OAA honours three additional Design Excellence Award winners

Winners of the Lieutenant Governor's Award, Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award, and People's Choice Award were announced at an awards gala.

The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) has revealed three winners of the 2022 Design Excellence Awards have won more honours at the Inspiring Climate Action conference.

From May 11 to 13, the OAA held an in-person Conference at Toronto’s Beanfield Centre. At the event, which showcased creative ideas and sustainable projects applied to the climate crisis, three projects have won additional honours.

Tommy Thompson Park Pavilion. Photo Credit: Scott Norsworthy

The winners include:

The People’s Choice Award

Launched in 2008, this award serves to engage the broader community in the remarkable projects being designed by Ontario architects and to increase awareness of architecture and design. The public was invited to vote online for their favourite project among the Design Excellence winners. More than 1600 votes were received and the winner was Hariri Pontarini Architects for the Tom Patterson Theatre. 

Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award

Honouring architectural excellence for projects in Ontario that cost no more than $8 million, this award was a tie for the first time ever. The recipients were Lebel & Bouliane Inc. for Clearview Public Library, Stayner Branch and DTAH Architects Limited for Tommy Thompson Park Pavilion. 

Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Design Excellence in Architecture

The Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Design Excellence in Architecture is presented biennially to recognize completed projects constructed in Ontario within the preceding six years. The award winner is selected from among the finalists of the OAA Design Excellence Awards (i.e. best of the best), and is considered by an expert jury to have shown excellence in creativity, context, sustainability, good business, and legacy. This year, RDH Architects Inc. was named for The Springdale Library and Komagata Maru Park.