OAA Awards call for entries

The entry deadline for the Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) Awards is 4:30pm on Thursday, February 22, 2007.

The goals of the Awards are to:

*better acquaint the general public with the work of Ontario’s architects
*maintain and encourage professional pride among Ontario’s architects
*encourage architects, interns and students of architecture by presenting new benchmarks of achievements

The categories for submission are:

*Design Excellence Awards
*Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award
*Concepts and Presentations Award for Image, Artifact, and Proposals/Concepts
*Best Emerging Practice Award
*G. Randy Roberts Service Award
*Allied Arts
*Honour Roll
*Landmark Award
*Order of da Vinci Award

OAA Honours & Awards Task Group Chair and members, members of the jury and their associates, partners, employees or relatives are not eligible to win an award. Previous winning submissions in a specific category are ineligible to submit again in time in the same category.

The annual awards ceremony takes place during the OAA/RAIC Conference and Festival of Architecture which is scheduled from May 9-12, 2007 at the Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel, Toronto. The Celebration of Excellence awards ceremony will be held on May 11, 2007. The awards dinner and presentation follows the Presidents’ Reception. An exhibit of the awards will be showcased during the conference.

The winners will be published in the summer 2007 issue of the OAA’s journal Perspectives and featured on the OAA website at www.oaa.on.ca. The awards will be used in OAA promotional materials.