OAA 2005 Awards Call for Entries

The entry deadline for the Ontario Association of Architects 2005 Awards is 4:30pm on Thursday, January 13, 2005.

Goals of these awards are to: better acquaint the general public with the work of Ontario’s architects; maintain and encourage professional pride among Ontario’s architects; and encourage architects, interns and students of architecture by presenting new benchmarks of achievement.

The categories this year are:
Architectural Excellence Awards
Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award
Ideas and Presentation Awards
-website design
Good Design is Good Business Information Group
Honour Roll
Landmark Award
Allied Arts Award
Order of da Vinci Award

The awards will be presented May 13, 2005 at the Celebration of Excellence as part of the OAA Conference, May 11-14, Sheraton Centre Hotel, Toronto. The winners will be published in the Summer 2005 issue of the OAA’s journal Perspectives and used in OAA promotional materials.

This year’s jury includes the following:
Larry Beasley, Co-Director of Planning, City of Vancouver
Jean-Pierre Lacroix, President, Shikatani Lacroix Grandesign
Cobi Ladner, Editor, Canadian House and Home Magazine
Drew Mandel, Intern, Drew Mandel Design
Michael Mohr, Vice President, Finance & Administration, BMW Canada Inc.
Rashmi Nathwani, President, Namara Developments
Veronica Tennant, Prima Ballerina, Author, Producer-Director

Architectural Advisors are George Kapelos, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Architectural Science, Ryerson University, and Eberhard Zeidler, Partner, Zeidler Partnership Architects.

For more information, please visit www.oaa.on.ca