NWT Association of Architects reveals Architectural Award winners

The Northwest Territories Association of Architects (NWTAA) has announced the winners for its 2nd Architectural Awards, recognizing and celebrating excellence in Northern architecture.

In December 2021, the results of the 2020 NWTAA Architectural Awards and Architectural Photography Competition were announced to all participants. However, due to Covid-19 restrictions, the adjudication of awards was delayed and an awards ceremony could not be organized to recognize the winners.

The three territories were well represented amongst the 16 Architectural Award and 7 Photography Competition submissions. Participants made submissions for the Architectural Awards in three different genres: New Construction, Addition/Renovation/Reuse and Landscape Design. 

The distinguished jury consisted of Toon Dressen (Ottawa), Adrian Benoit (Edmonton) and Brittany Rozier (Fairbanks, Alaska). The winners for the 2020 NWTAA Architectural Awards were recognized overall amongst the following three categories: 

  1. Honour (1st tier), 
  2. Merit (2nd tier), and 
  3. Citation (3rd tier), for projects demonstrating unique or unusual design solutions 

Here are the winners:


  • Łutsel K’e Dene School Addition/Renovation, Taylor Architecture Group 

  • Kugaaruk Hamlet Office Community Hall, Taylor Architecture Group 

  • Liard Highway Welcome Pavilion, Taylor Architecture Group 


  • Łutsel K’e Dene School Landscape Design, Taylor Architecture Group 

  • Gjoa Haven Hamlet Office, Taylor Architecture Group 

  • Iqaluit Aquatic Center, Stantec Architecture Ltd 


  • MacBride Museum Addition & Renovation (Whitehorse), Kobayashi + Zedda Architects 

  • Iqaluit International Airport Improvement Project, Stantec Architecture Ltd 

  • Haines Junction Lift Station, Stantec Architecture Ltd 

Architectural Photography Competition 

The top three winners for the 2020 NWTAA Architectural Photography Competition were: 

  • First prize: ‘Historic Stone Church at Taloyoak’, Patrick Fung 
  • Second prize: ‘Government Dock’ taken in Yellowknife, Wayne Guy 
  • Third prize: ‘Residence’ In Back Bay, Yellowknife, Wayne Guy 

The description of the full list of winners for the Architectural awards can be found on the NWTAA website at https://nwtaa.ca/awards and for the Photography Competition at https://nwtaa.ca/photo-competition.