Nominations being accepted for 2014 Society of Architectural Historians Book Awards

The Society of Architectural Historians is currently accepting nominations for the 2014 SAH Book Awards. The Society’s Book Award program includes five awards which will be presented at the Society’s Annual Conference from April 9-13, 2014 in Austin, Texas. The deadline for nominations is August 3, 2013.

Any authors wanting to submit a book for consideration must contact their publisher representative to send the book, as all book submissions must come directly from the publisher.

The committees selecting winners for 2014 will be considering books with copyright dates of 2011 and 2012 (years 2010, 2011 and 2012 are eligible for the MacDougall Award). The award categories are as follows:

The Antoinette Forrester Downing Book Award is presented for an outstanding publication devoted to historical issues in the preservation field.

The Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award is presented for distinguished scholarship by a North American author in the history of architecture.

The Philip Johnson Exhibition Catalogue Award is presented for excellence in published exhibition catalogues.

The Spiro Kostof Book Award is presented for work that focuses on urbanism and architecture and provides the greatest contribution to our understanding of historical development and change.

The Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award is presented for distinguished scholarship in the history of landscape architecture or garden design.

Detailed information on each of the above awards regarding criteria, contact and submission information, description, past winners, etc. can be found at