New Brunswick architectural firms recognized for community building and excellence

The Honourable Graydon Nicholas, Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick, recently presented the 2014 Lieutenant Governor’s Award of Excellence in Architecture to Architecture 2000 Inc., now Stantec Architecture Ltd. This award was received for their design of the Emergency Response Services & Town Hall Facilities in Sackville, New Brunswick.

The Award of Excellence in Architecture is given every three years to celebrate outstanding architectural design excellence and to recognize the important role architects and architecture has in building communities across the province. A jury of three internationally recognized architects selected this year’s recipients from the over 25 submissions received. The jury was comprised of:André Bourassa, Arch. OAQ, MIRAC; Jon Hobbs, FRAIC; and Keith Robertson, NSAA.

The new Sackville Town Hall Facility designed by lead architect Raven Spanier, was selected for its ability to overcome various location and design challenges while still creating a recognizable building that respects the character of the community.

The facility is very energy-efficient, incorporating the latest technologies and systems. Additionally, by co-locating similar functions, a reduction of space was achieved resulting in reduced space requirements for the town, which means current and future cost savings. The building also has LEED energy-efficiency features such as an accessible green roof terrace, rainwater storage to wash fire trucks, abundant daylight using skylights and solar hot water panels.

“Every year in New Brunswick architects bring their skills and expertise to projects, big and small, and they are helping us build not just our homes, schools and facilities but they are building our communities,” said Lieutenant-Governor Graydon Nicholas. “Through thoughtful and expert designs that display creativity, artistry, science and remarkable vision, architects are the artists whose canvasses are the buildings around us.”

Awards of Merit were also presented to Architects Four Limited and Design Plus Architecture Inc.  Architects Four Limited and lead architects Alain Malenfant and Pierre Gallant were recognized for their upgrade of the downtown Moncton Terminal Centre while Design Plus Architecture Inc.’s lead design architect Christian Hébert was recognized for his work on the design of the mixed-use infill development building at 83 Botsford Street in Moncton.

“Each of these outstanding projects represent the best of what architectural design brings to our communities,” said Denis Nadeau, AANB President. “As a profession, we take great pride in the fact that we are not just designing functional buildings, we’re building communities. Each of these designs represents the communities they live in as well as the best standards in energy efficiency and sustainability for the future.”

The Architects’ Association of New Brunswick is a corporate self-regulating body, established for the purpose of advancing and maintaining the standards of architecture and regulating those offering architectural services in the province. For more information on the Association and architectural services in New Brunswick, please visit