Museum of Polish History Design Competition

The Polish Minister for Culture and National Heritage Bogdan Zdrojewski, and the Museum of Polish History announce an international competition for the design of a Museum of Polish History in Warsaw.


This project competition, in two stages, in conformity with the UIA-UNESCO regulations, has been approved by the International Union of Architects (UIA) and by the Association of Polish Architects (SARP). The competition is open to architects worldwide.


The aim of the competition is to select the architectural concept for the future museum. With a surface area of 20,000 square metres, the museum will be located in the Jazdow neighbourhood close to the Skarpa Warszawska River and vast parkland, a significant aspect of Warsaw’s identity.


The deadline for registration is June 15, 2009, and the deadline for submission of projects (first stage) is June 30, 2009.


The international jury is composed of: Grzegorz Buczek, architect, Poland; Christine Dalnoky, architect, France; Aurelio Galfetti, architect, Switzerland; Ryszard Jurkowski, architect, Poland; Jong Soung Kimm, architect, Republic of Korea, representing the UIA; Tomasz Merta, Vice Minister of Culture and National Heritage, Poland; Marek Mikos, chief architect of the city of Warsaw, Poland; Rafael Moneo, architect, Spain; Andrzej Rottermund, art historian, Poland; and Eduardo Souto de Moura, architect, Portugal.


A total amount of 350,000€ will be awarded. Competitors selected to participate in the second stage will each receive the sum of 20,000€. The first prize will be worth 70,000€ and the jury will award prizes and mentions in relation to the ranking it will set up.


Registration will be made online at the competition website until June 15, 2009, and there is a non-refundable registration fee is 50€. The competition languages are Polish and English.


For more information, please visit