5468796 named among MCHAP.emerge finalists

OZ Condominiums, Winnipeg, by 5468796 Architecture
OZ Condominiums, Winnipeg, by 5468796 Architecture. Photo by James Brittain.

OZ Condominiums, a project in Winnipeg by 5468796 Architecture, has been named among the finalists for the prestigious MCHAP.emerge award.

MCHAP is a biennial prize that acknowledges the best built works of architecture in the Americas. MCHAP.emerge is the corresponding biennial prize for the best built work from an emerging architecture practice. The prizes were created by Wiel Arets, dean of the Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT) school of architecture, in 2013.

The MCHAP.emerge Finalists were selected by a jury led by Stan Allen. The finalists came from 55 nominated works of architecture, which were put forward by 95 nominators from throughout the Americas. Nominations were received in January and February and the jury met on March 4th and 5th.

The finalists will be celebrated at the April 1, 2016 MCHAP.emerge Symposium and Award Dinner at which the MCHAP.emerge 2014/15 recipient will be announced. 

The five MCHAP.emerge 2014/15 finalists are:

C.I.D.; Road to Ayquina, Chile; EmilioMarin & Juan CarlosLopez Arquitectos

Haffenden House; Syracuse, United States; JonLott, PARA Project 

OZ Condominiums; Winnipeg, Canada; 5468796 Architecture

Pavilion on the Zocalo; Mexico City,Mexico; Productora

San Francisco Building; Asunción, Paraguay;Jose Cubilla & Asociados

The MCHAP 2014/15 Jury includes: Jury President Stan Allen, architect and former Dean of Princeton University’s School of Architecture (New York); Florencia Rodriguez, editorial director of Piedra, Papel y Tijera publishers (Buenos Aires); Ila Berman, Professor of Architecture, University of Waterloo (Waterloo); Jean Pierre Crousse of Barclay & Crousse (Lima), and Dean Wiel Arets (Amsterdam). 

The authors of the winning project will be recognized with the MCHAP.emerge Award, the MCHAP Research Professorship in the College of Architecture at Illinois Institute of Technology for the following academic year, and funding of up to $25,000 USD in support of research and a publication related to the theme of “Rethinking Metropolis.”