Master Jury announced for 2013 Aga Khan Award for Architecture

The members of the Master Jury of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture were recently announced. The Jury, which independently selects the recipients of the $ 1-million (US) Award, will convene in January 2013 to select a shortlist from hundreds of nominated projects. The shortlisted projects will then be subject to rigorous on-site reviews by independent experts. The Jury will meet for a second time in June 2013 to examine the on-site reviews and then select the final recipients of the Award. 

The nine members of the Master Jury for the 2010-2013 Award cycle are: Mr. David Adjaye, Principal, Adjaye Associates, London, United Kingdom; Dr. Howayda al-Harithy, Professor, Department of Architecture and Design, American University of Beirut, Lebanon; Mr. Michel Desvigne, Landscape Architect and Founder, Agence Michel Desvigne, Paris, France; Professor Mahmood Mamdani, Professor and Executive Director, Makerere Institute for Social Research (MISR), Wandegeya, Uganda; Mr. Kamil Merican, Principal Designer and CEO, Group Design Partnership, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; Professor Toshiko Mori, Principal, Toshiko Mori Architect, New York City, USA; Ms. Shahzia Sikander, Artist, New York City, USA; Mr. Murat Tabanlioglu, Architect and Founder, Tabanlioglu Architects, Istanbul, Turkey; and Mr. Wang Shu, Architect and Founder, Amateur Architecture Studio, Hangzhou, China.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture, established in 1977, is given every three years to projects that set new standards of excellence in architecture, urban and regional design, conservation and landscape architecture. Through its efforts, the Award seeks to identify and encourage building concepts that successfully address the needs and aspirations of societies in which Muslims have a significant presence. The selection process emphasizes architecture that not only provides for people’s physical, social and economic needs, but that also stimulates and responds to their cultural and spiritual expectations. Particular attention is given to building schemes that use local resources and appropriate technology in an innovative way, and to projects likely to inspire similar efforts elsewhere. The Award is currently in its 12th triennial cycle.

The Award is governed by a steering committee whose current members are:  His Highness the Aga Khan, Chairman; Mohammad al-Asad (Founder and Chairman of the Center for the Study of the Built Environment, Amman, Jordan); Homi K. Bhabha (Director of the Humanities Center, Harvard University, USA); Norman Foster (Founder and Chairman of Foster + Partners, London); Omar Abdulaziz Hallaj (Architect; Damascus, Syria); Glenn Lowry (Director of the Museum of Modern Art, New York); Rahul Mehrotra (Principal of RMA Architects, Mumbai, India); Mohsen Mostafavi (Dean of the Graduate School of Design, Harvard University, USA); Farshid Moussavi (Founder, Farshid Moussavi Architecture, London); and Han Tümertekin (Principal of Mimarlar Tasarim Danismanlik Ltd, Istanbul). Farrokh Derakhshani is the Director of the Award.

For more information, please visit