Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

MAQ Young Critic in Architecture Competition

maison de l'architecture du québec
maison de l’architecture du québec
The Maison de l’architecture du Québec has announced the fourth edition of the MAQ Young Critic in Architecture Competition (Concours Jeune Critique MAQ en architecture). The MAQ created this annual bilingual competition in 2011 in order to support and stimulate a new generation of high-calibre writing about architecture in Quebec. Through an exciting association with the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC), this year the competition has expanded to include all of Canada and offers each of the two winners a $1,000 prize. Additionally, the winning English-language text will be published in Canadian Architect, while the French-language text will be featured in Nouveau Projet.

This year’s theme is “A Library for the Twenty-First Century.” The task is to visit and to write a critical analysis of one or more libraries built in the last five years. The competition guidelines include a list of libraries proposed by the jury as good candidates for analysis.

The submission deadline is November 15, 2015.

For full details and submission guidelines, please visit