Manitoba Premier’s Design Awards winners announced

 University of Manitoba ART Lab by LM Architectural Group with Patkau Architects
University of Manitoba ART Lab by LM Architectural Group with Patkau Architects

On October 14, Manitoba Premier Greg Selinger celebrated the creative excellence and growing reputation of Manitoba architects, professional interior designers and landscape architects by presenting the Premier’s Awards for Design Excellence (PADE) to 15 outstanding projects.

“Our province is undergoing a renaissance of innovative architecture and design with local firms earning regional, national and international recognition,” said Premier Selinger.  “This talented group has been instrumental in transforming our city and province, by bringing vibrant, cutting-edge design to the forefront.  Today, we honour and celebrate these significant achievements.”

Premier Selinger presented awards in the categories of architecture, interior design, landscape architecture and small projects.  Of these, seven were awards of excellence and eight awards of merit.

The award winners are:


Award of Excellence – Architecture

  • Bloc_10 in Winnipeg, MB (5468796 Architecture Inc)
  • Canadian Museum for Human Rights in Winnipeg, MB (Architecture49 Inc. with Antoine Predock Architect)
  • The University of Manitoba ART Lab in Winnipeg, MB (LM Architectural Group with Patkau Architects Inc)

Award of Merit – Architecture

  • H2Office in Winnipeg, MB (Cibinel Architecture Ltd)
  • Qualico Family Centre Winnipeg, MB (Number Ten Architectural Group)
  • Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport Winnipeg, MB (Stantec Architecture Ltd. with Pelli Clarke Pelli)
  • youCUBE in Winnipeg, MB (5468796 Architecture Inc)

Award of Excellence – Interior Design

  • Canada House – The Canadian High Commission, London in the United Kingdom (Stantec Architecture Ltd)

Award of Merit – Interior Design

  • Stantec’s new Downtown Office in Winnipeg, MB (Stantec Architecture Ltd)

Award of Excellence – Landscape Architecture

  • Millennium Library Park in Winnipeg, MB (HTFC Planning & Design)

Award of Merit – Landscape Architecture

  • Central Park Redevelopment in Winnipeg, MB (Scatliff + Miller + Murray Inc)
  • Folly Forest in Winnipeg, MB (Straub Thurmayr Landscape Architects and Urban Designers)

Award of Excellence – Small Projects

  • OMS Stage in Winnipeg MB (5468796 Architecture Inc)
  • Popple in Grand-Metis Quebec (Suzy Melo & landscape architectural intern Meaghan Hunter)

Award of Merit – Small Projects

  • Little Red Library, various locations in Winnipeg (David Penner Architect)

More information on the winners is available here.