List of Entrants (December 01, 2009)


In addition to this year’s winners, the editors thank the following individuals and firms for participating in the 2009 Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence:

YUKON Streamline Architects Ltd.

NORTHWEST TERRITORIES Nadji Architects Ltd. and Lombard North Group/Golfplan Associates.

BRITISH COLUMBIA Architect Daryoush Firouzli/Robert Boyle Architecture Inc., Busby Perkins+Will, CEI Architecture Planning Interiors, Helliwell + Smith: Blue Sky Architecture, IBI/HB Architects, Iredale Group Architecture, Kenneth E. King Architecture, Matthew Woodruff Architecture Inc., Patrick R. Stewart Architect, Proscenium Architecture + Interiors, Public Architecture + Communication Design, Salikan Architecture Inc., Stantec Architecture in association with Meiklejohn Architects.

ALBERTA AKA/andrew king studio, David J. Ferguson Architecture, Group 2 Architecture Engineering Ltd., Kasian Architecture Interior Design and Planning Ltd., Ryan Schmidt Architecture Studio, shelterbelt architecture, Terry Frost Designer Architect Ltd. + Maltby Prins.

MANITOBA BIOS Architecture, Cibinel Architects Ltd., Friesen Tokar Architects + Landscape + Interior Designers, Jac Comeau Architect, MMP Architects, Smith Carter Architects and Engineers Incorporated.

ONTARIO AKB–Atelier Kastelic Buffey Inc., BBB Architects Toronto Inc./Janet Rosenberg and Associates, Breathe Architects, Bruce March Architect, Core Architects, CS&P Architects Inc., David Johnston Architect Ltd., Diamond and Schmitt Architects, Dimitri Papatheodorou Architect, Drew Mandel Design, Dubbeldam Design Architects, gh3, Jennifer Turner Architect, Joseph Bogdan Associates Inc., J.P. Thomson Associates Ltd., Kirkor Architects & Planners, Leo Mieles Architect, Levitt Goodman Architects Ltd., Makrimichalos Cugini Architects, Montgomery Sisam Architects Inc., Moriyama & Teshima Architects in association with March Schaffel Architects, Moriyama & Teshima Architects/Walter Fedy Partnership, National Capital Commission–Architecture Section, Queen’s Quay Architects International Inc., RDH Architects Inc. and David Premi Architects Inc., Shore Tilbe Irwin + Partners, Stantec Architecture Ltd., Steven Fong Architect, Sweeny Sterling Finlayson & Co. Architects Inc., WZMH Architects, Young + Wright/IBI Group Architects, Zeidler Partnership Architects.

QUEBEC acdf* architecture, Allaire Courchesne Dupuis Frappier architectes, Atelier Ville Architecture et Paysage, Beaupr et Michaud Architectes, Eric Pelletier Architecte, Fourier Gesovitz Moss et Associs Architectes, Kanva Architecture, Laroche et Gagn Architecture Design, Miljevic Miljevic Architects, Services integrs Lemay et associs inc., Sid Lee Architecture.

NEW BRUNSWICK ADI Limited with Cannon Design, David Foulem Architecture Inc., Murdock & Boyd Architects.

NOVA SCOTIA Fowler Bauld & Mitchell Ltd., Judyann Obersi Design, MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects Ltd. in association with Shoalts and Zaback Architects Ltd., MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects Ltd. and The Arcop Group, Studioworks International Inc.


In addition to this year’s winners, the following architecture students were chosen by their schools to enter their thesis projects in this year’s awards: Jessie Andjelic (University of Calgary), Jean-Daniel Bernier (Universit Laval), Samuel Bernier-Lavigne (Universit Laval), Dirk Blouw (University of Manitoba), Adetokunbo Bodunrin (Dalhousie University), Nicholas Bokobza (Universit de Montral), Annick Brassard (Universit de Montral), Dan Briker (University of Toronto), Aiden Callison (University of British Columbia), Alexander Liu Cheng (University of British Columbia), Brent Cotton (University of Manitoba), Tania Delage (McGill University), Kristina Duynisveld (University of Waterloo), Emma Fitzgerald (Dalhousie University), Laurie Damme Gonneville (McGill University), Ryan Gorrie (University of Manitoba), Jonah Humphrey (University of Waterloo), Jesse Jackson and Luke Stern (University of Toronto), Samantha Lynch (University of Manitoba), Jean-Bruno Morissette (Universit Laval), Jason Mrdeza (Dalhousie University), Nicolas Neisingh (University of British Columbia), Komi-Oluwa Olafimihan (Carleton University), Elizabeth Paden (McGill University), Justin Perdue (University of Waterloo), Daniel Rabin (University of Toronto), Christopher Sklar (University of British Columbia), Sean Solowski (Carleton University), Nicholas Standeven (University of Calgary), H. Cuong Tran (Universit de Montral), Michael Votruba (University of Waterloo), Candace Wiersema (McGill University).