List of Entrants


In addition to this year’s winners, the editors thank the following individuals and firms for participating in the 2011 Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence:

BRITISH COLUMBIA Acton Ostry Architects, Allen + Maurer Architects, Battersby Howat Architects Inc., Brian G. Hart & Company, Broadway Architects, Campos Leckie Studio, Cannon Design, CEI Architecture Planning Interiors in joint venture with Parkin Architects, Clifford Wiens Architect, DSK Architecture, Evoke International Design Inc., Helliwell + Smith–Blue Sky Architecture, Henriquez Partners Architects, Joe Y. Wai Architect Inc., JWT Architecture and Planning, LWPAC–Lang Wilson Practice in Architecture Culture, Matthew Soules Architecture, Omicron Architecture Engineering Ltd., One Seed Architecture + Interiors, Perkins+Will Canada, Public Architecture + Communication, Salikan Architecture Inc.

ALBERTA DIALOG Alberta Architecture Engineering Interior Design Planning Inc., Gibbs Gage Architects, Riddell Kurczaba Architecture, Sherri Turpin Architect, Stantec Architecture Ltd., Sturgess Architecture, Terry Frost Designer Architect Ltd., The Marc Boutin Architectural Collaborative Inc., Toker + Associates.

SASKATCHEWAN RBM Architecture Inc.

MANITOBA Cibinel Architects Ltd. & Batteríio Architects Ltd., Number Ten Architectural Group, Smith Carter Architects & Engineers Inc., Stantec Architecture Ltd. 

ONTARIO 25:8 Research + Design, architectsAlliance, Atkinson Architect, Baird Sampson Neuert Architects Inc., Batay-Csorba, B+H Architects, BBB Architects Toronto Inc., Cindy Rendely Architexture, Climans Green Liang Architects Inc., CSV Architects, Diamond and Schmitt Architects, Drew Mandel Design, duToit Architects Limited, George Friedman Architect, Hariri Pontarini Architects, HOK, Ian MacDonald Architect Inc., Jason Dobbin Architect, Levitt Goodman Architects, Levitt Goodman Architects in association with Walter Fedy and Phillip H. Carter Architect, MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects, MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects/HIP Architects–architects in joint venture, Montgomery Sisam Architects Inc., Page + Steele/IBI Group Architects, Parkin Architects Limited, Paul Raff Studio, PLANT Architect Inc., PLANT Architect Inc. and Douglas Coupland, Queen’s Quay Architects International Inc., RAW Design Inc., RDH Architects Inc., Spiracle Design, Stantec Architecture Ltd., Stantec Architecture Ltd./KPMB Architects–architects in joint venture, TACT Architecture Inc., Taylor Hazell Architects, Teeple Architects Inc. + Architecture ATB, The Ventin Group Toronto Ltd., Tyler Sharp, Unit A Architecture Inc. & RAW Design Inc., Zeidler Partnership Architects in association with DSRA Architects.

QUEBEC AFO–Atelier Big City/Fichten Soiferman & Associés/L’OEUF, AKA, Andrew King with Nicolay Boyadjiev, Anne Vallières Architecte, Architecturama, Architecture Open Form, ARCOP/FGM–architects in joint venture, Atelier Pierre Thibault, Brière Gilbert + Associés Architectes, Cannon Design/DCYSA Architects, CGA + D, Chevalier Morales architectes, Dan Hanganu architectes, Dan Hanganu + Côté Leahy Cardas architectes, DMG + Bourgeois | Lechasseur Architectes en Consortium, Fichten Soiferman et Associés Architectes, Fournier Gersovitz Moss Drolet & Associés Architectes, KANVA, Lachance & Associée Architectes, Laroche et Gagné + Labbé, Lemay, L’OEUF in collaboration with NIP paysage, Paul Laurendeau | François Beauchesne | Architectures en consortium, Pelletier de Fontenay, Régis Côté & Associates, Smith Vigeant Architectes, TBA (Thomas Balaban Architecte).

NEW BRUNSWICK Acre Architects Inc.

NOVA SCOTIA MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects Limited in association with ARCOP, Omar Gandhi, Rayleen Hill Architecture + Design Inc., Susan Fitzgerald Architecture.



In addition to this year’s winners, the following architecture students were chosen by their schools to enter their thesis projects in this year’s awards: 

Drew Adams (University of Toronto), Janak Alford (Carleton University), Jordan Allen (University of Calgary), Natalie Badenduck (University of Manitoba), Matthew Beall (University of British Columbia), Ryan Beecroft (Dalhousie University), Michael Blois (Ryerson University), Frédérick Boily (Université de Montréal), Erik Boyko (University of Waterloo), Liana Bresler (University of Waterloo), Christopher Chevalier (University of Calgary), Jon Cummings (University of Toronto), Yusef Dennis (Dalhousie University), Michael Faciejew (McGill University), Ali Fard (University of Toronto), Chantal Galibois (Université Laval), Mindy Gudzinski (Dalhousie University), Derek Judson (Carleton University), Muhidin Kadric (Université de Montréal), Lilia Koleva (McGill University), Nicolas Labrie (Université Laval), Monica Leung (Dalhousie University), Michael Lis (University of British Columbia), Alison MacLachlan (University of Calgary), Chad Manley (University of British Columbia), Ashley Marcynuk (Carleton University), Robert Micacchi (University of Waterloo), Ariel SJ Mieling (University of British Columbia), Brett Osness (University of Calgary), Simon Pelletier (Université Laval), Gabrielle Poirier (McGill University), Jeff Powers + Byron White (University of Toronto), Nadia Qadir (Ryerson University), Dustin Sharrow (University of Manitoba), Kendra Spanton (Carleton University), André St-Pierre (Université Laval), Jason Tsironis (McGill University), Rose Uomobono (Université de Montréal), Elmira Yousefi (Ryerson University).