Call for Submissions: Lieutenant Governor’s Visionaries Prize

In keeping with Canada’s 150th anniversary celebrations, and Ontario’s future leadership role, the search is on for the top innovative and creative young thinkers in Ontario. In partnership with the Walrus Foundation, the Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, announced further details about the Lieutenant Governor’s Visionaries Prize, an incredible opportunity for innovative and creative young thinkers across Ontario to identify and present their solutions to challenges facing Ontario over the next 50 years  to some of the top leaders and thinkers in the province.

Disruptive technologies. Political detachment. Poverty, water shortages and food insecurity. These are just some of the potential challenges facing us in the coming years. To achieve a world that works for everyone will require bold and creative ideas,” said The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario. “I invite you to seize the opportunity presented by the Lieutenant Governor’s Visionaries Prize to design creative solutions, making an Ontarian contribution to those with whom we share this earth.” 

The public is invited to submit an essay (maximum 800 words) or video (maximum 2 minutes) containing a visionary idea in one of six categories (or all six) about the future of the province and a matter of important public policy. Six finalists in each of six categories will have a chance to publicly showcase and defend their proposed policy solutions before a live audience and the judges at moderated sessions across Ontario, and the winners will be awarded the Lieutenant Governor’s Visionaries Prize in October 2017.

Head judge Piya Chattopadhyay will be joined by panel judges Waneek Horn-Miller (Reconciliation,) Steve Paikin  (Governance,) Annette Verschuren (Inclusive Prosperity,) Edward Burtynsky (Environmental Stewardship,) Sanjay Khanna (Social Cohesion,) and Dr. Ilse Treurnicht (Scientific and Technological Innovation.)   

Submissions close in March 2017. For more information, please click here.