Jury convenes for final stage in UBC’s University Boulevard Architectural Competition

A jury that includes internationally renowned architects convenes this week to choose the winner of UBC’s University Boulevard Architectural Competition. The jury’s decision will be announced this week.

Jury members will evaluate each of the design submissions based on program requirements, technical performance, cost, and spatial organization, among others.

The three finalists are:

*Allies and Morrison Architects (London, UK) with Proscenium Architecture and Interiors Inc. (Vancouver, BC)
*Moore Ruble Yudell Architects & Planners (Santa Monica, California) with Hughes Condon Marler Architects (Vancouver, BC)
*Patkau Architects (Vancouver, BC)

Invited architects on the jury include:

Arthur Erickson, Canada
One of Canada’s greatest architects, Erickson reached a landmark moment in his career when he won a competition to design Simon Fraser University in Burnaby, British Columbia. Since then Erickson has enjoyed international acclaim and a long and distinguished career. Erickson’s noteworthy contributions and innovative design work earned him the Gold Medal from the American Institute of Architects in 1986. Erickson is the first Canadian to have received this award.

Moshe Safdie, Israel/USA
Boston-based Moshe Safdie heads Moshe Safdie and Associates, an internationally renowned architecture and urban design firm with branch offices in Toronto and Jerusalem. Beginning with Habitat ’67, his seminal experimental housing project for Montreal’s Expo, Safdie has contributed meaningfully to almost every building type: museums, libraries, performing arts centres, government buildings, airports, houses, and the realization of entire cities.

Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, USA
Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk is a founding principal of Duany Plater-Zyberk & Company (DPZ). She is dean of the University of Miami’s School of Architecture, where she has taught since 1979. Having founded a graduate program in Suburb and Town Design in 1988, Elizabeth continues to explore current issues in city growth and reconstruction with students and faculty.

Edward Jones, United Kingdom
Edward Jones is a partner with Jeremy Dixon in the London-based architectural firm Jeremy Dixon.Edward Jones. With a distinguished career spanning four decades, his work ranges from the Royal Opera House in London to Mississauga City Hall in Canada and from the Henry Moore Institute in Leeds to the Business School for Oxford University.

William F. Valentine, USA
William Valentine is the President of Hellmuth, Obata + Kassabaum, Inc. (HOK) and Design Principal for the company’s San Francisco office. He is responsible for the firm’s overall strategic direction and emphasis on ensuring continued design excellence. Valentine has over 40 years of experience in the design of virtually every type of project including airports, health facilities, universities, correctional institutions, secondary schools, convention centres and office buildings.

UBC jury representatives include:

*Dennis Pavlich Vice-President, External and Legal Affairs, UBC
*Linda Moore Associate Director External Affairs, University Town, UBC
*Rhodri Windsor-Liscombe Head of the Department of Art History, Visual Art & Theory, UBC
*Moura Quayle Dean, Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, UBC
*Al Poettcker President & CEO, UBC Properties Trust
*Colleen Brown, Alma Mater Society, UBC

For more detailed information on the competition please visit www.universitytown.ubc.ca. For more information on the shortlisted firms, please visit www.alliesandmorrison.co.uk, www.proscenium.ca, www.moorerubleyudell.com, www.hcma.ca, and www.patkau.ca.