Jury announced for the 2022 Margolese Design for Living Prize

UBC’s School of Architecture + Landscape Architecture (SALA) has announced the jury for the eighth edition of the $50K Margolese Prize.

Image courtesy of margoleseprize.com.

UBC’s School of Architecture + Landscape Architecture (SALA) has announced the jury for the eighth edition of the Margolese Design for Living Prize.

The $50,000 prize is awarded by the school to a Canadian citizen whose professional practice and advocacy in design disciplines such as architecture, landscape architecture, or urban design demonstrate wide social and environmental impact. The jury includes:

Blair Satterfield
Satterfield is Chair of Architecture at UBC SALA, where he teaches design and design media. He is also founder and director of UBC’s HiLo Lab, and co-founding principal with Marc Swackhamer of the research design collaborative HouMinn Practice. HiLo and HouMinn have been published and exhibited widely and have garnered numerous awards for design, including R&D Awards from Architect magazine, Core77, ACSA, and ID Magazine. Satterfield’s work has also won multiple AIA awards for architecture and urbanism. HiLo Lab, collaborating with Ottawa based YOW+, is one of four teams shortlisted to represent Canada at the 2023 Venice Biennale of Architecture.

Brigitte Shim
Shim is a founding principal at Shim-Sutcliffe Architects, one of Canada’s most innovative architectural practices with an international reputation for masterful designs that bridge architecture, landscape, interiors, furniture, lighting and hardware. Shim is also a professor at the John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design at the University of Toronto. She is a Fellow of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (FRAIC), an Honorary Fellow of the American Institute of Architects (Hon. FAIA), and an elected member of the Royal Canadian Academy (RCA). In 2013, Shim was awarded the Order of Canada along with the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal. In 2021, Shim and partner A. Howard Sutcliffe won the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada’s Gold Medal.

Grant Fahlgren
Fahlgren is a member of Wabigoon Lake Ojibway Nation, Chair and founding member of the Reconciliation Advisory Committee of the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects, and a Frank Knox Fellow and Fulbright Student at Harvard GSD. He received a Bachelor of Environmental Design from the University of Manitoba and Master of Landscape Architecture from UBC, where his thesis focused on the potential of traditional knowledge to mitigate impacts of sea-level rise. In 2015, he was named the first Canadian National Olmsted Scholar by the Landscape Architecture Foundation. The award has supported the expansion of his research on Indigenous adaptations to climate change and informs his work with Indigenous communities as well as his contributions to the Canadian National Adaptation Strategy.

Jill Anholt
Artist and principal of Jill Anholt Studio, Anholt is recognized nationally and internationally for her public realm artworks that engage and activate themes of urban sustainability and placemaking. Through her practice and process, which is rooted in an education based in both sculpture and architecture, she explores hidden stories, systems, and conditions of a particular place, which she weaves into dynamic spatial installations that invite active engagement with a viewer. Anholt’s built work often incorporates illumination and interactivity and ranges from smaller scale interpretive features to complex, integrated civic projects for municipalities and developments across North America.

Tudor Radulescu
Radulescu is co-founder of KANVA, a Montreal-based multidisciplinary architectural firm. His work is at the forefront of thinking, imagining, drawing and constructing collective space. For over twenty years, Radulescu has been leading a team of dynamic architects, artfully maintaining a balance between the theoretical and practical aspects of the profession and seeking to question and transform the built environment. Each of his projects are engaging, memorable and sensitive to the human experience and to contemporary culture. Through his work at KANVA, he has earned numerous honours, publications, awards and distinctions.

Candidates for the prize will be given equal consideration if they self-nominate or are nominated by others. Following the nomination process, a SALA Steering Committee will put forward a shortlist of candidates, and these individuals will be asked to submit additional materials to support their nomination. Jury deliberations, chaired by SALA Director Ron Kellett, will take place in June. The successful candidate will be notified following the deliberations and announced in September. An award ceremony and related events will be held in October.

Nominations for the 2022 Margolese Prize close April 10 at 11:59pm PDT.