Jury announced for Canadian EIFS Design Awards

The EIFS Council of Canada (ECC) has officially announced the individuals selected for the ECC Architectural Design Awards Judging Panel. The Awards Panel will convene in April 2018 to evaluate and select the recipient of the ECC Architectural Design Awards Program Grand Prize. The Panel may also select up to five finalists from the five submission categories: low rise residential, high rise residential, commercial/retail, recreational/institutional and renovations.

The five members of the Judging Panel for the 2017‐18 ECC Architectural Design Awards are:

  •  Barrie Ottenbreit, Partner, Number TEN Architectural Group
  • Paul Hammond, Principal, Low Hammond Rowe Architects S
  • Steven Kirshenblatt, Senior Partner, Kirkor Architects and Planners
  • Mario Greco, Senior Associate, Petroff Partnership Architects
  • Alex Lukachko, Principal, Senior Building Science Specialist, RDH Building Science Incorporated

“Our judging panel represents leading architecture, planning and building science firms from across Canada,” Says John M. Garbin, President and CEO of the ECC, “We look forward to our Awards Panels’ decisions and to recognizing the Finalists at this year’s Awards Ceremony in June.”

The ECC Architectural Design Awards Program was established to recognize design professionals and firms which incorporate EIFS products into innovative and creative built projects. The goal of the ECC Awards Program is to create a new benchmark in EIFS construction, and will help professionals to achieve Canada’s national objective of creating resilient, sustainable buildings.

EIFS Design Awards, ECC
Enchokay Birchstick School, a 2016-2017 winner by Number Ten Architecture. Photo via EIFS Council

The Awards Program is open to all architects, architectural firms, builders or design professionals that have designed and completed a building located in Canada which utilizes EIFS. Eligible buildings must be occupied no sooner than January 1st, 2016 and no later than January 31st, 2018.

Registrations and submissions are due April 7th, 2018. All applicants that have been deemed eligible have until April 7th, 2018 to prepare their electronic submission packages. Submissions must be received no later than 12:01am April 7th, 2018. Award finalists will be announced on April 30th, 2018. Award recipients will be honoured at the EIFS Council of Canada Annual General Meeting and Awards Reception on June 13th, 2018.

More information on the EIFS Council of Canada Architectural Design Awards Program and full details on categories, registration and submissions, is available here.