IOC/IAKS Awards announced

The IOC/IAKS Award brings to public attention exemplary buildings and complexes that integrate sensible sustainability and legacy considerations, strong functional planning and exceptional architectural design. The goal of enhancing the human experience and appreciation of sport and leisure while protecting the environment through design, the use of materials, and creativity is fundamental to the awards program. The IPC/IAKS Distinction is aimed at increasing the accessibility of all sports and leisure facilities and architectural structures in order to offer all people, regardless of their physical abilities, opportunities to practice and view sport freely and without barriers.

The patrons of the IOC/IAKS Award for Exemplary Sports and Leisure Facilities are the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and the International Association for Sports and Leisure Facilities (IAKS). The patrons of the IPC/IAKS Distinction for Accessibility are the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) and the International Association for Sports and Leisure Facilities (IAKS). The IAKS is responsible for the organization and staging of the competition.

The facilities selected by the jury will be commended with the IOC/IAKS Award for Exemplary Sports and Leisure Facilities in Gold, Silver and Bronze and/or the IPC/IAKS Distinction for Accessibility.

The jury may award special prizes for facilities remarkable for particular design features or particular exemplary characteristics, e.g., for
• energy-efficient buildings
• innovative structural or technological details
• exceptional strategies for financing and operation
• facilities of particular social or corporate responsibility.

Competition categories include:
• major outdoor stadiums:  outdoor stadiums for competitions and events, e.g. for ball games, athletics and other uses—with large spectator facilities
• community outdoor grounds and public areas:  outdoor grounds, public areas, school and educational facilities for sport, leisure, recreation and touristic uses, e.g. for ball games, athletics, skating/boarding, urban trend sports—with small or no spectator facilities
• multipurpose halls and major arenas:  multipurpose halls and major arenas for competitions and events, e.g., for indoor sports and other uses – with large spectator facilities
• indoor facilities for sports, leisure and recreation:  indoor facilities consisting of several building components or only a single building component for competition, training, trend sports, leisure, recreation and touristic uses—with small or no spectator facilities
• pools, spas and wellness facilities:  indoor and outdoor pools, combined pools, spas and thermal pools, wellness and health facilities, for sports, leisure, recreational and touristic uses
• specialized facilities for sports, leisure and recreation:  indoor and outdoor facilities for special sports, leisure and recreational activities, e.g., for Alpine and Nordic skiing, motor racing, mountain biking, canoeing, rowing, sailing, golf, equestrianism and shooting as well as beach sports, free climbing etc.

Desired projects include newly built facilities for sports, leisure and/or recreation as well as extensions, modernizations, rehabilitations or conversions of existing buildings and facilities in the public and private sector. The facilities must have been erected and gone into operation between January 1, 2008 and March 31, 2014 and must have been in successful operation for at least one year. Temporary venue infrastructure/architecture (e.g., demountable or relocatable infrastructure for major sport events) may also be entered in the competition even if it has been operated for a shorter period.

The designers/architects and owners (or operators) of facilities listed under “competition categories” are eligible to enter. The entry must be jointly submitted by the designer/architect and the owner (or operator) of the facility.

The registration fee is 50 Euros, and the closing date for entries is March 31, 2015.

For more information, please visit