Historic preservation and innovation take Gold at 2010 AIBC Architectural Awards

Themes of adaptive reuse and fresh design were front and centre at the 2010 Annual AIBC Architectural Awards, revealed Saturday at the Architectural Institute of British Columbia’s annual conference. A total of 11 awards were bestowed upon British Columbia’s architectural leaders, including two Lieutenant-Governor Award in Architecture medals; four Lieutenant-Governor Award in Architecture merit awards; three AIBC Special Jury Awards; an AIBC Innovation Award; and an Emerging Firm Award.


Top honours went to two unique Vancouver initiatives that set new standards for design excellence. Alhambra + Garage + Cordage + Grand + Terminus, a project by Acton Ostry Architects Inc, was recognized for its creative reimagining and extensive rehabilitation of five historic buildings. Walter Francl Architecture Inc. and Pechet and Robb art and architecture ltd. shared accolades for the False Creek Energy Centre, a rare combination of cutting-edge architecture and infrastructure.


“Projects like these speak to the courage, creativity and talent that exist in this province,” says AIBC President  Pierre E. Gallant, MAIBC, AAA, MRAIC. “It’s indicative of the state of the profession. Increasingly, B.C. architects are building a collective reputation as leaders in sustainability, heritage preservation and design innovation. This year’s winning projects, and the many other worthy submissions that were in the running, make that abundantly clear.”


The 2010 crop of award submissions also connected with the AIBC’s conference theme, Community Building: The Social Impact of Architecture. “Good architecture has always been about having a positive, lasting impact on people and communities,” offers AIBC Executive Director Michael Ernest, MAIBC. “We need to remain mindful of the role that architecture plays in creating livable communities. This year’s award recipients show that the profession not only understands, but embraces, the challenge of making the world a better place.”


This year’s awards program attracted a record 72 submissions, ranging from small but smart residences and snazzy boutiques to multi-faceted educational facilities and community centres.


The award categories include:

• Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia Award in Architecture (Medal and Merit categories) – recognizing excellence in completed architectural projects completed within the past seven years and led by a BC-registered architect.
• AIBC Innovation Award – for achievements in building design that are not strictly “architectural,”
but that have a direct bearing on the future of architecture.

• AIBC Special Jury Award – a discretionary honour for outstanding achievement.

• AIBC Emerging Firm Award – calling attention to a budding architectural practice with less
than six years’ history.


“Each year, it seems there are more and more noteworthy projects from BC architects springing forth throughout the province and around the globe,” says Gallant. “One of the biggest challenges has become the very task of selecting those most worthy for these prestigious awards.” That responsibility falls upon a volunteer jury design professionals and media representatives.

The 2010 AIBC Awards Jury consisted of:


• Bruce Carscadden, MAIBC (Chair), Bruce Carscadden Architect Inc., MAIBC and Past Winner

• Richard Gilbert, The Journal of Commerce, Burnaby, Media / Public Representative

• Jason Herzog, IA.AIBC, The Colborne Architectural Group Pacific Inc., Intern Architect Representative

• Terry LeDesky, AIA, American Institute of Architects – Northwest Washington, Guest Architect from Another Region

• Brigitte Loranger, MAIBC, Brigitte Loranger Architecture & Planning Limited, Architect from Another Region of BC

• Graham McGarva, MAIBC, AIA, VIA Architecture, Architect – Innovative Approaches to Practice

• Jim Toy, RID, LEED AP, False Creek Design Group, Design Practitioner from Another Discipline

The following are the jury’s selections for 2010:


Lieutenant-Governor of British Columbia Award in Architecture – Medal (2)


Alhambra + Garage + Cordage + Grand + Terminus
Acton Ostry Architects Inc.
Lead Design Architects: Mark Ostry, MAIBC, AAA, FRAIC; Russell Acton, MAIBC, AAA, FRAIC; and Alan Davies MAIBC


False Creek Energy Centre
Walter Francl Architecture Inc. and Pechet and Robb art and architecture ltd.
Lead Design Architects: Walter Francl, MAIBC, MRAIC, P. Eng., LEED AP; Hazen Sise, MAIBC, MRAIC, LEED AP (Building); and Stephanie Robb, MAIBC (Stacks)

Lieutenant-Governor of British Columbia Award in Architecture – Merit (4)


135 Keefer Street
Gair Williamson Architect Inc.
Lead Design Architect: Chris Woodford, MAIBC, LEED AP


House, Southern Gulf Islands
Gates_Suter Architects
Lead Design Architects: Joanne Gates, MAIBC and Peter Suter, MAIBC

Mountain View Cemetery: Customer Service Centre, Celebration Hall and Operations Yard
Birmingham & Wood – Architects and Planners
Lead Design Architect: Sandra Moore, MAIBC, MRAIC, LEED AP


West Vancouver Community Centre
Hughes Condon Marler Architects
Lead Design Architect: Darryl Condon, MAIBC, AAA, FRAIC, LEED AP


2010 AIBC Innovation Award


WMW Public: Architecture + Communication Inc.
Lead Design Architects: Brian Wakelin, MAIBC, MRAIC, LEED AP and John Wall, MAIBC, OAA, LEED AP

2010 AIBC Special Jury Award (3)


Lynn Steven Boutique
mcfarlane green biggar ARCHITECTURE + DESIGN INC
Lead Design Architect: Michael Green, MAIBC, AIA, MRAIC

Rennie Art Gallery and Offices
Walter Francl Architecture Inc. and mcfarlane green biggar ARCHITECTURE + DESIGN INC
Lead Design: Walter Francl, MAIBC; Michelle Biggar, BBE Int.Design; and Michael Green, MAIBC, AIA, RAIC


Thompson Rivers University Students’ Union
Stantec Architecture Ltd.
Design Architect: Ray Wolfe, MAIBC

The AIBC Emerging Firm Award


Matthew Soules Architecture Inc.
Principal: Matthew Soules, MAIBC, Reg. Arch. New York

For more details and information about the 2010 AIBC awards program, please visit www.aibc.ca.