Hamilton-Burlington Society of Architects announces Awards of Excellence winners

The Hamilton-Burlington Society of Architects (HBSA) has announced the recipients of the 2014 Architectural Awards of Excellence. The award winners were honoured during the HBSA Celebrate 2014 Gala on November 27, 2014 at the Hamilton Art Gallery, where they raised over $5,000 for the United Way. Biannually, the HBSA recognizes the exceptional work of architects from Hamilton, Burlington and Milton across a range of categories of projects built in Ontario.

This year’s jury panel featured:

• Tania Bortolotto of Bortolotto Design Architect, Toronto
• Alex Lukachko of Building Science Consulting, Waterloo
• Michael McClelland of ERA Architects, Toronto
• Michael Leckman of Diamond Schmitt Architects, Toronto
• Kathy Renwald, freelance journalist, Hamilton

In the Heritage or Adaptive Reuse category, Thier + Curran Architects’ 95 King Street East Studios and Lofts won an Award of Excellence, while an Award of Merit was given to Perkins+Will’s Carnegie Gallery Revitalization.

In the Renovation Mixed Use/Commercial category, Thier + Curran Architects again won an Award of Excellence for 118 James Street North. An Award of Merit recognized the Phoenix Pub and Restaurant at McMaster University by McCallum Sather Architects.

In the Renovation Institutional category, an Award of Excellence was given to McCallum Sather Architects’ McMaster Institute for Music and the Mind, while Thier + Curran Architects captured an Award of Merit for the Ancaster Senior Achievement Centre.

An Award of Merit recognized the Burlington Avenue House by Cynthia Zahoruk Architect in the New Residential category, while the Waterloo North Hydro Head Office and Fleet Service Centre by McCallum Sather Architects also won an Award of Merit in the New Institutional category.

A Lifetime Service Award honoured Anthony Butler, and Petra Matar was named the Award Design winner.

For more information, please visit http://hbsarchitects.com/news/27.