Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Grands Prix du Design Announces 2020 Winners

On February 5th, the Casino de Montréal welcomed Québec’s design and architecture community for the 13th edition of the Grands Prix du Design gala.

The annual event is a contemporary showcase of projects designed to highlight Québec designers and architects, and their work in residential, commercial, institutional, office and product design.

This year, 93 Grand Prix du Design awards were given out in 15 categories. Here’s a selection of some of the architectural winners:

Commercial Public Space Award
Rockland ”La Cuisine”
Humà Design+Architecture & Architecture49

Photo credit: Adrien Williams

Special Lighting Award
SAQ De La Montagne
Blouin Tardif Architectes / Sid Lee Architecture / SAQ / CS Design

Photo credit: Steve Montpetit

Commercial Space Grand Prize (over 5,400 ft²)
Wood in Development Award
Grand Marché de Québec
Bisson associés & Atelier Pierre Thibault

Photo credit: Maxime Brouillet

Light Fixture Award
Stade Olympique Desjardins
Luminaire Authentik et Provencher_roy

Stade Olympique Desjardins

Sustainable Development Award
Gare de Sorel-Tracy
GLCRM et associés architectes

Photo credit: Stéphane Groleau

Public Institution Award
Universal Accessibility Award
Pavillon d’accueil de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec
Provencher_Roy en consortium avec GLCRM

Photo credit: Olivier Blouin

Outside Category Award
Au Gré des Champs
la SHED architecture

Photo credit: Maxime Brouillet

Residential Space Award (under 1,600 ft²)
Écharpe d’aluminium
Jean-Maxime Labrecque, architecte

Photo credit: Fréderic Bouchard

Residential Space Award (1,600 to 3,200 ft²)
Résidence Victoria

Photo credit: Adrien Williams

Residential Space Award (over 3,200 ft²)
Résidence Knowlton
TBA | Thomas Balaban Architecte

Photo credit: Adrien William

Residential Space, Multi-Housing Award
Off Plaza
L. McComber

Photo credit: Raphaël Thibodeau

Special Award for Signage and Branding Places
Tour des Canadiens 2
Humà Design+Architecture

Photo credit: Lorelei L’Affeter

Cultural Establishment Award
Le Studio
hatem+d/etienne bernier architecture

Photo credit: Dave Tremblay

Congratulations to all of the winners and finalists.