Four recipients of the 2015 OLA Library Building Award announced

Additions, renovations, restorations and interior redesigns are just a few aspects recipients of the 2015 Ontario Library Association (OLA) Library Building Award were judged upon. The OLA has announced four recipients of the distinguished award, which focused on library architectural and design transformation.

The four winning projects are as follows:

*Ottawa Public Library, Beaverbrook Branch by Moriyama & Teshima Architects

*Kitchener Public Library, Central Branch by LGA Architectural Partners

*Carleton University, MacOdrum Library by Diamond Schmitt Architects

*Toronto Public Library, Mount Dennis Branch by G. Bruce Stratton Architects

The 2015 award presentation will occur at the Annual Institute on the Library as Place being held at the Waterloo Delta in Waterloo, Ontario on July 6-7, 2015.

The OLA Library Building Award encourages and showcases excellence in the architectural design and planning of libraries in Ontario.  The Award is divided into two alternating categories (Library Architectural and Design Transformation and New Library Buildings) and runs every third year to allow a critical number of projects in all types of libraries to accumulate.

Through their partnerships with architectural firms, the award recipients have created wonderful community spaces. These projects are particularly crucial given that Ontario’s libraries face an infrastructure crisis if further funding resources are not committed. The OLA salutes the recipients’ dedication to meeting the demand for multi-functional library buildings that serve the needs of their communities and organizations.

For more information, please visit