Four Canadian projects among 2023 Brick in Architecture Awards winners

Canadian projects by Shim-Sutcliffe and PARTISANS are among the winners of the 2023 Brick in Architecture Awards.

The Brick Industry Association (BIA) has honoured the 2023 Brick in Architecture Awards, the premier international design competition featuring fired-clay brick.

The 2023 winning projects, which were judged by a jury of peers, span across Canada, the United States, China, Mexico, and the first winner in the Russian Federation.

The 44 winners include nine Best in Class, nine Gold, nine Silver, 16 Bronze plus an overall Craftsmanship Award. Among these, four Canadian projects were winners—including two that cinched the program’s top prizes for Best in Class.

“Brick is a versatile material that offers limitless design possibilities with inherent sustainability, unmatched durability, fire resistance and notable energy efficiency,” said BIA president and CEO Ray Leonhard.

The Best in Class Canadian winners include the following.

Commercial Best in Class (and Craftsmanship Award Winner)

Ace Hotel Toronto – Toronto, Ontario – Canada
Architect: Shim-Sutcliffe Architects
Brick Manufacturer: Endicott Clay Products Company
Mason Contractor: Limen Group

Ace Hotel by Shim-Sutcliffe Architects

Residential Single Family Best in Class

Canvas House – Toronto, Ontario – Canada
Architect: PARTISANS
Brick Manufacturer: Taylor Clay Products
Brick Distributor: Thames Valley Brick
Mason Contractor: Finbarr Sheehan

Canvas House by PARTISANS

The other Canadian projects among the full list of 44 winners include the following.

Jackman House

2023 Gold – Residential Single Family
Toronto, Ontario
Manufacturer: The Belden Brick Company
Distributor: Mason’s Masonry Supply Ltd.
Mason: Duffy + Associates
Architects: Superkül

Jackman House by Superkül


Pacific Railway Single Residence

2023 Bronze – Residential Single Family
Montreal, Canada
Manufacturer: General Shale
Architetcs: Architecture Microclimat

Pacific Railway Single Residence by Architecture Microclimat

To view the full list of winners, click here.