Flight 93 National Memorial Design Competition finalists announced

Five finalists have been announced to enter Stage II of the competition to design the permanent Flight 93 National Memorial. The Families of Flight 93, the Flight 93 Advisory Commission, the Flight 93 Task Force and the National Park Service have invited designers from throughout North America to begin the challenging work of design.

Gina Bradshaw Farfour, a family member who serves on the Design Oversight Committee and Family Board, stated "I am thrilled that we are at the point in a process that has worked very well. The Stage I jury did a terrific job in picking a variety of concepts from over 1,000 great choices. The process can now continue on course as the finalists refine their ideas. The nine honourable mention designs are also thought-provoking and should be proud to be recognized."

The Stage I jury based their unanimous decision following an extensive and exhaustive examination of the 1,011 design submittals that represented a range of design approaches. These design submittals interpreted the Mission Statement for the new memorial and demonstrated an opportunity for further exploration. The Stage I jury report stated that "the common thread among the five is that each provides a ‘memorial expression’ while considering and respecting the land." The five finalists who will advance to Stage II are:

Disturbed Harmony
Leor Lovinger and Gilat Lovinger
Berkeley, California

Ken Lum
Toronto, Ontario

Fields, Forests, Fences
Laurel McSherry and Terry Surjan
Columbus, Ohio

The Crescent of Embrace
Paul Murdoch and Milena Murdock
Los Angeles, California

Memory Trai
Frederick Steiner, Karen Lewis, Jason Kentner and E. Lynn Miller
Austin, Texas

The five finalists will each be awarded $25,000 to begin work on Stage II of the design competition. Initially they will participate in an innovative Master Planning Workshop held in Somerset, February 24-25. In conjunction with the Stage II briefing, they will participate in a facilitated workshop to create master plans for the memorial site, the goal being to create planning frameworks for the site that provide an appropriate context and site structure for their individual design concepts. Following several months of further design work on their concepts they will present a three-dimensional model and other materials in June for consideration by the Stage II jury. The author of the winning concept will be announced in September 2005 and be invited to negotiate a contract with the National Park Service for the design of the new memorial.

Nine design submittals were also acknowledged by the Stage I jury with Honourable Mentions. They include: Jason Heard, Colorado Springs, Colorado; Michael Jantzen, Valencia, California; Tim Kobe, San Francisco, California; Andrew Legge, Deborah Eve Lewis, Murray Legge, New York, New York; C. William Rich, Nantucket, Massachusetts; David Wilborg, Newton, Massachusetts; Elizabeth B. Wisecarver, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Brandon A. Woodward, Seattle, Washington; and Jana Vander Goot, Bethesda, Maryland.

The Flight 93 National Memorial Design Competition is funded in part by Heinz Endowments and the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.

For more information and photographs of the finalists and all of the design submittals, please visit www.flight93memorialproject.org or call the National Park Service at (814) 443-4557.