eVolo 2012 Skyscraper Competition

eVolo is pleased to invite students, architects, engineers, designers, and artists from around the globe to take part in the eVolo 2012 Skyscraper Competition. Established in 2006, the annual Skyscraper Competition is one of the world’s most prestigious awards for high-rise architecture. It recognizes outstanding ideas that redefine skyscraper design through the implementation of novel technologies, materials, programs, aesthetics, and spatial organizations along with studies on globalization, flexibility, adaptability, and the digital revolution. It is a forum that examines the relationship between the skyscraper and the natural world, the skyscraper and the community, and the skyscraper and the city.

The participants should take into consideration the advances in technology, the exploration of sustainable systems, and the establishment of new urban and architectural methods to solve economic, social, and cultural problems of the contemporary city including the scarcity of natural resources and infrastructure and the exponential increase of inhabitants, pollution, economic division, and unplanned urban sprawl.

The competition is also an investigation on the public and private space and the role of the individual and the collective in the creation of a dynamic and adaptive vertical community. It is also a response to the exploration and adaptation of new habitats and territories based on a dynamic equilibrium between man and nature – a new kind of responsive and adaptive design capable of intelligent growth through the self-regulation of its own systems.

There are no restrictions in regards to site, program or size. The objective is to provide maximum freedom to the participants to engage the project without constraints in the most creative way. What is a skyscraper in the 21st century? What are the historical, contextual, social, urban, and environmental responsibilities of these mega-structures?

eVolo Magazine is committed to continue stimulating the imagination of designers around the world – thinkers that initiate a new architectural discourse of economic, environmental, intellectual, and perceptual responsibility that could ultimately modify what we understand as a contemporary skyscraper, its impact on urban planning and on the improvement of our way of life.

November 7, 2011 is the deadline for submitting questions, and November 15, 2011 is the early registration deadline. The late registration deadline is January 17, 2012, followed by a project submission deadline of January 24, 2012. Winners will be announced on February 27, 2012.

The jury is comprised of: Maria Ailova, principal of Terreform One; Chris Bosse, principal of LAVA – Laboratory for Visionary Architecture; Gaël Brulé, principal of Atelier CMJN and winner of the 2011 Skyscraper Competition; Julien Combes, principal of Atelier CMJN and winner of the 2011 Skyscraper Competition; Marc Fornes, principal of the THEVERYMANY; Florian Idenburg, principal of SO-IL Solid Objectives – Indenburg Liu; Minnie Jan, principal of MisoSoupDesign; Mitchell Joachim, principal of Terreform One and professor at New York University; Jing Liu, principal of SO-IL Solid Objectives – Indenburg Liu; Daisuke Nagatomo, principal of MisoSoupDesign; Alexander Rieck, principal of LAVA – Laboratory for Visionary Architecture; Michel Rojkind. Principal of Rojkind Arquitectos; Michael Szivos, principal of Softlab and professor at Pratt Institute; Tobias Wallisser, principal of LAVA – Laboratory for Visionary Architecture; and Ma Yansong, principal of MAD Architects.

The first-place winner takes $5,000 US; second place gets $2,000 US; and third place is awarded $1,000 US. Winners and special mentions will be published in several print magazines including eVolo_06.

For more information and to register, please visit www.evolo.us/architecture/registration-evolo-2012-skyscraper-competition/