Edmonton Park Pavilion Architectural Design Competition

Building on the legacy of Edmonton’s historic parks pavilions, the City of Edmonton is sponsoring a design competition for five individual Parks Pavilions in five separate parks: Borden Park, Castle Downs Park, John Fry Sports Park, Mill Woods Sports Park, and Victoria Park.

Each project will judged independently. The jury will consist of five persons, four of whom will constitute the main jury and will judge each project. For each of the five projects, a separate individual has been appointed to the jury as the fifth member.

The main jury will be comprised of architect Steve McFarlane, MAIBC, AAA, MRAIC, LEED AP; landscape architect Janet Rosenberg, OALA, FCSLA, ASLA, IFLA, RCA; architect Pierre Thibault, OAQ; and City of Edmonton architect Carol Belanger, AAA, MRAIC, LEED AP.

Additional jury members are:

* City of Edmonton landscape architect Jim Black, AALA, CSLA for the Mill Woods Sports Park and the John Fry Sports Park

* City of Edmonton landscape architect Martina Gardiner, AALA, CSLA, for Borden Park and Castle Downs Park

* City of Edmonton landscape architect Gilbert Catabay, AALA, CSLA, for Victoria Park

Individuals or teams are encouraged to join the competition if they are eligible for registration with the Alberta Association of Architects. First- and second-place winners for each park will receive recognition and monetary awards for the work involved.

The registration deadline is March 1, 2011, and the deadline for submissions is March 22, 2011. Registration is online, so please check out the competition website for all the details at www.edmonton.ca/DesignCompetition.