Dr. Lisa Landrum appointed New Chair Department of Architectural Science at TMU

Dr. Lisa Landrum has been appointed as the new Chair of the Department of Architectural Science at Toronto Metropolitan University (TMU).


Photo credit: Toronto Metropolitan University

The Department of Architectural Science has announced the appointment of Dr. Lisa Landrum as the new Chair of the department.

Dr. Landrum served as the Associate Dean Research for the Faculty of Architecture at the University of Manitoba for the past six years. During this time, she significantly elevated research efforts, oversaw the growth of the PhD in Design and Planning program, initiated and led a Cooperative Education program, and taught various graduate and undergraduate courses in design studios, seminars, and architectural history and theory for 15 years.

She has been a full-time professor at the University of Manitoba since 2008, with previous teaching roles at Carleton University, McGill University, Norwich University (Vermont), and international workshops in Finland and the Netherlands. She has also served as a visiting lecturer and critic in the United States, Europe, and China.

She is also a registered architect in both New York State and Manitoba, a fellow of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, the current president of the Canadian Architectural Certification Board (CACB), and an executive member of Building Equality in Architecture Prairies (BEAP).

“Architects have crucial roles to play in advancing climate action, social justice, Indigenous rights, and cultural vitality. Today’s complex challenges require reimagining what, how and why we design, and who we design for and with,” said Dr. Landrum. “TMU’s Department of Architectural Science prepares students to design adventurously and responsibly, and to engage design creatively and critically through provocative questions, innovative research, and impactful solutions.”