Chicago Architecture Biennale announces full list of participants

The Chicago Architecture Biennale has announced the final list of architects and artists who will convene in Chicago this fall for the largest international survey of contemporary architecture in North America (October 3, 2015–January 3, 2016). The final roster features approximately 40 additional firms that have been incorporated into the exhibitions and programs since the initial announcement of program participants in April 2015.

In total, over 100 architects and artists—representing more than 30 countries—were selected by Biennial Co-Artistic Directors Joseph Grima and Sarah Herda, who are supported by an advisory committee comprising David Adjaye, Elizabeth Diller, Jeanne Gang, Frank Gehry, Sylvia Lavin, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Lord Peter Palumbo, and Stanley Tigerman. The Biennial’s full roster of participating architects and artists is the outcome of intensive research on contemporary architectural practices and issues around the world, which included visits to Beijing, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Mexico City, and other cities.

The complete list of participants is as follows:

Al Borde (Quito, Ecuador)
all(zone) (Bangkok, Thailand)
Andreas Angelidakis (Athens, Greece)
Andrés Jaque / Office for Political Innovation (Madrid, Spain; New York, United States)
ArandaLasch (Tucson and New York, United States)
Architecten De Vylder Vinck Taillieu (Gent, Belgium)
Assemble (London, United Kingdom)
Atelier Bow-Wow (Tokyo, Japan)
Iwan Baan (Amsterdam, Netherlands)
Baukuh (Milan, Italy)
Besler & Sons + ATLV (Los Angeles, United States)
Tatiana Bilbao S.C. (Mexico City, Mexico)
BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group (Copenhagen, Denmark; New York, United States)
Santiago Borja (Mexico City, Mexico)
David Brown with 3D Design Studio, Central Standard Office of Design, Ania Jaworska, Krueck+Sexton, Landon Bone Baker, Stanley Tigerman, Margaret McCurry, JGMA, JAHN (Chicago, United States)
Carlos Bunga (Barcelona, Spain)
Bureau Spectacular (Los Angeles, United States)
SOM + CAMESgibson (Chicago, United States)
Counterspace (Johannesburg, South Africa)
Csutoras & Liando (Jakarta, Indonesia; London, United Kingdom)
DAAR (Decolonizing Architecture Art Residency) (Beit Sahour, Palestinian Territories)
Design With Company (Chicago, United States)
Environmental Communications (Los Angeles, United States); Mark Wasiuta, Marcos Sanchez, Adam Bandler + GSAPP Exhibitions (New York, United States)
El Equipo de Mazzanti + Nicolas París (Bogota, Colombia)
Assaf Evron (Chicago, United States; Tel Aviv, Israel)
Fake Industries Architectural Agonism + University of Technology, Sydney (New York, United States; Sydney, Australia)
Fala Atelier (Porto, Portugal)
Ramak Fazel (Los Angeles, United States)
Frida Escobedo Taller de Arquitectura (Mexico City, Mexico)
Didier Faustino (Paris, France)
Gramazio Kohler Research, ETH Zürich (Zürich, Switzerland) + Self Assembly Lab, MIT (Cambridge, United States)
Nikolaus Hirsch/Michel Müller (Frankfurt, Germany) with David Adjaye (London, United Kingdom), Markus Binder (Stuttgart, Germany), Bollinger + Grohmann Ingenieure (Frankfurt, Germany), Aroon Puritat & Chayanon Hansapinyo & Sumeth Klahan (Chiang Mai, Thailand), Tobias Rehberger (Frankfurt, Germany), Tomás Saraceno (Berlin, Germany), Superflex (Copenhagen, Denmark)
Hinterlands Urbanism and Landscape (Chicago, United States)
Moon Hoon (Seoul, Korea)
Independent Architecture (Denver, United States)+ Paul Preissner Architects (Chicago, United States)
John Ronan Architects (Chicago, United States)
Johnston Marklee (Los Angeles, United States)
junya.ishigami+associates (Tokyo, Japan)
Barbara Kasten (Chicago, United States)
Kéré Architecture (Berlin, Germany)
Kuehn Malvezzi (Berlin, Germany)+ Armin Linke (Milan, Italy; Berlin, Germany) + Marko Luli? (Vienna, Austria)
Anne Lacaton & Jean-Philippe Vassal + Frédéric Druot (Paris, France)
Yasmeen Lari + Heritage Foundation Pakistan (Karachi, Pakistan)
Lateral Office (Toronto, Canada)
LCLA Office (Cambridge, United States; Medellín, Colombia)
LIST (Paris, France)
MAIO (Barcelona, Spain)
Makeka Design Lab (Cape Town, South Africa)
Mass Studies (Seoul, Korea)
MOS Architects (New York, United States)
New-Territories / M4 (Paris, France; Bangkok, Thailand)
NLÉ (Lagos, Nigeria; Amsterdam, Netherlands)
Noero Architects (Cape Town, South Africa)
Norman Kelley (Chicago and New York, United States)
OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen (Brussels, Belgium) + Bas Princen (Rotterdam, Netherlands)
onishimaki + hyakudayuki architects (Tokyo, Japan)
OPEN Architecture (Beijing, China) + Spirit of Space (Chicago, United States)
otherothers (Sydney, Australia)
P-A-T-T-E-R-N-S (Los Angeles, United States)
Michael Pecirno (London, United Kingdom)
Pedro&Juana (Mexico City, Mexico)
Pezo von Ellrichshausen (Concepción, Chile)
PIOVENEFABI (Milan, Italy)
Plan:b Arquitectos (Medellín, Colombia)
Point Supreme (Athens, Greece)
PORT Urbanism (Chicago, United States)
PRODUCTORA (Mexico City, Mexico)
RAAAF [Rietveld Architecture-Art-Affordances] (Amsterdam, Netherlands)
Pedro Reyes (Mexico City, Mexico)
Bryony Roberts (Los Angeles, United States) + South Shore Drill Team (Chicago, United States)
RUA Arquitetos (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
Rural Urban Framework (Hong Kong)
Tomás Saraceno (Berlin, Germany)
David Schalliol (Chicago, United States)
selgascano + helloeverything (Madrid, Spain)
Deane Simpson (Copenhagen, Denmark)
Sio2arch (Chicago, United States; Barcelona, Spain)
Smout Allen (London, United Kingdom) + Geoff Manaugh (New York, United States)
SO-IL (New York, United States)
Sou Fujimoto Architects (Tokyo, Japan)
Stefano Boeri Architetti (Milan, Italy)
Studio Albori (Milan, Italy)
Studio [D] Tale (Harare, Zimbabwe; Cape Town, South Africa; London, United Kingdom)
Studio Gang (Chicago, United States)
TOMA (Santiago, Chile)
UrbanLab (Chicago, United States)
URBZ (Mumbai, India)
Vo Trong Nghia Architects (Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam)
WAI Architecture Think Tank (Beijing, China)
WEATHERS with AECOM (Chicago, United States)
Amanda Williams (Chicago, United States)
Wolff Architects (Cape Town, South Africa)
WORKac + Ant Farm (New York, United States)
Liam Young (London, United Kingdom)

For more information, please visit