Canadian Centre for Architecture Design Charrette winners announced

This competition, entitled Alterotopia, was held under the auspices of the Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA) and Montreal-based universities (Université de Montréal, UQÀM and McGill University), in partnership with other Canadian universities, and challenged students and interns by inviting them to reflect on issues and problems in contemporary architecture, around the theme of “making another city/stitching/connecting/sharing.”

Two first prizes were awarded to a team of students from Carleton University composed of Benoît Lagacé, Adam Johnston, Jessica MacDonald, Josh Armstrong and Cipriano Nolan, and to a team of two young UQÀM graduate interns, Anik Poirier and Albane Guy. There were also two honourable mentions, for participants from McGill University and the Université de Montréal.


Students from the Université de Montréal, McGill University, Université Laval, UQÀM, Carleton University, and Ryerson University had to pit their ingenuity against one another from November 4-7, 2010. Working in teams, they presented the jury with urban development proposals adapted to the borough of Montréal-Nord. The zone of study was the eastern part of Léger Boulevard, between Salk Avenue and Albert Hudon Boulevard.

With a distinct social and urban fabric, due as much to the ethnic and cultural diversity of its residents as to the obvious disconnect between the urban landscape and its boundaries, this northeastern part of the city – where small-scale elements seem to dominate – is home to the borough’s poorest households and is one of Montreal’s most densely populated areas. As such, it represented an interesting challenge.

The jury, chaired by Hubert Pelletier, a partner in the architectural firm of Pelletier De Fontenay and the winner of a fellowship from the Architectural League of New York, was composed of Céline Poisson, professor, director of advanced studies in events design, school of Design, UQÀM; the Brazilian architect, planner, and sociologist Sonia Marquès; and Mouna Andraos, designer and co-winner of the 2010 Phyllis Lambert Design Montréal Grant.