Canadian Architect


In addition to this year’s winners, the editors thank the following individuals and firms for participating in the Canadian Architect 2006 Awards of Excellence:

BRITISH COLUMBIA Acton Ostry Architects, Arthur Erickson with Nick Milkovich Architects, Battersby Howat Inc., Bing Thom Architects, Broadway Architects Rob Sieniuc + Associates, Bruce Carscadden Architect, Cannon Design Architecture Inc., Henriquez Partners Architects, Hewitt + Kwasnicky Architects Inc., Hughes Condon Marler Architects, Kasian Architecture Interior Design and Planning Ltd., Killick Metz Bowen Rose Architects, Larry McFarland Architects Ltd., Marceau Evans Johnson Architects, Marko Simcic Architect, MCM Partnership in association with Smith Carter Architects, Ramsay Worden Architects Ltd., Steve Palmier Architecture.

ALBERTA AKA/Andrew King Studio, Marc Boutin Architect, S2 Architecture, Sturgess Architecture, Unit Projects.

MANITOBA Cohlmeyer Architects Limited, Corbett Cibinel Architects, Number Ten Architectural Group, Syverson Monteyne Architecture.

ONTARIO Black and Moffat Architects Inc., Bortolotto Design Architect Inc., Breathe Architects, Bregman + Hamann Architects, Carmina Gill, Core Architects Inc., C.Y. Lee Architect Inc., Diamond and Schmitt Architects Inc., EY1 inc., Hariri Pontarini Architects, Joseph Bogdan Associates Inc. Architects/Urban Design Consultants, Levitt Goodman Architects Ltd., Lynch + Comisso Architects Inc., Michael H.K. Wong Architects Inc., Montgomery Philip King Architect, NORR Limited Architects and Engineers, Omniplan Architecture Inc., Paul Raff Studio and Colin Ripley Architects, PLANT Architect Inc., Precipice Studios Inc., Reza Aliabadi and Mehran Gharaati, Reza Aliabadi Building Workshop, Shore Tilbe Irwin & Partners, Stone McQuire Vogt Architects, Superkl Inc. Architect, Thomas Brown Architects, Ventin Group Ltd. Architects, Wickens Kim Attard, Zeidler Partnership Architects.

QUEBEC Anne Carrier Architectes, Cardin + Ramirez & Associs Architectes, Integral Jean Beaudoin + Dahan Architectural Design Institute, Louis Lessard Architectes, Menks Shooner Dagenais Letourneux Architectes, Smith Vigeant Architectes.

NOVA SCOTIA Niall Savage Architecture.

NEW YORK Alexander Gorlin Architects.


In addition to the winning submissions, the thesis projects by the following architecture students were chosen by their schools for this year’s awards:

Lauren Abrahams (McGill University), Neeraj Bhatia (University of Waterloo), Anne-Marie B. Bouliane (McGill University), Olivier Bourgeois (Universit Laval), Christopher Clarke + Matthew Hickey (University of Calgary), Karen Conty (Carleton University), Youki Cropas (Dalhousie University), Mike de Boer (University of Calgary), Stacy Dyck (University of Manitoba), Matthew Galvin (University of Toronto), Marie-Louise Germain (Universit Laval), Phil Goodfellow (University of Toronto), Jason Goorts (Universit de Montral), Rebekka Hammer (Dalhousie University), Sarah Iwata (University of Toronto), Mathieu Larouche (McGill University), Cory-Gene Leniuk (University of Manitoba), Ken Lum (University of Waterloo), Kari-Ann Oldager Birte Madsen (University of Manitoba), Antoine Mathys (Universit de Montral), Geoffrey David Moote (Dalhousie University), Benoit Muyldermans (Universit de Montral), Phuong-Trm Nguyen (Universit de Montral), Venk Prabhu (Carleton University), Adam Scales (University of Calgary), Kim An Truong (McGill University), Olivier Vallerand (Universit Laval).