Canada’s Top Heritage Conservation Projects Honoured

The Canadian Association of Heritage Professionals awards 12 projects across Canada.

Photo: Calgary’s Historic City Hall courtesy of EVOQ Architecture

Canada’s finest examples of heritage conservation have been honoured in the 2021 Awards held by the Canadian Association of Heritage Professionals. The twelve projects are in conservation architecture, engineering, planning, heritage education, and student achievement. The total list of awards, with images and details, can be found here.

An Award of Excellence in the Conservation: Architecture category went to the John Muir Branch of the Windsor Public Library, a historic firehall and stable transformed into a community library in Windsor, Ontario. Award recipients are Christopher Borgal of GBCA Architects and Jason Grossi of studio g+G architecture.

In the Conservation: Engineering category, the Award of Excellence went to the Fort Mississauga Tower Stabilization in Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, by Jonathan Dee of John G. Cooke and Associates Ltd., Sean Leigh of Heritage Restoration Inc., and Stefan Gingras of GRC Architects Inc..

In Montreal, the Canadian Centre for Architecture Sculpture Garden received an Award of Excellence in the Materials, Craftsmanship & Construction category, for restoration work by Giovanni Diodati and Julia Gersovitz of EVOQ Architecture.

 The CAHP also bestowed Awards of Merit on eight projects across the country. In the Conservation: Architecture category, Calgary’s City Hall was recognized for its preservation work on its roof and sandstone façade, by Darryl Cariou, Dima Cook, Alex Corey, Giovanni Diodati, Julia Gersovitz, Eric Stein, Nikolas Marshall-Moritz and Dan Prentice.

In the Small & Lovely category, Merit Awards were given to the Papineau Memorial Chapel in Montebello, Quebec, by Rosanne Moss of EVOQ Architecture, Eric Jokinen of Jokinen Engineering Services, and Ed Bowkett of Heritage Grade; and the Silver Dollar Room in Toronto, by Emad Ghattas and Christopher Borgal of GBCA Architects, Donovan Pauly and Sam Trigila of Clifford Restoration, and Monique Palma Whittaker of MPW Art Restoration.

Merit Awards in the Conservation: Architecture category include restoration of Manoir Papineau, the 19th-century home of Louis-Joseph Papineau, by Francis Vanasse of STGM Architects; and the Basilica of Our Lady  Immaculate Rectory in Guelph, Ontario, by Roberto Chiotti of Larkin Architect Ltd. Arlin Otto and Will Teron of Tacoma Engineers, Lindsay Reid of Branch Architecture, and Stephan Robinson of. the City of Guelph.

In the Conservation: Engineering category, Merit Awards went to Beinn Bhreagh Hall Preservation in Cape Breton, by Bill Hockey of Architectural Conservation Services Ltd. and Dr. Tom Morrison of Heritage Standing Inc.

In the Documentation and Planning category, an Award of Merit honoured the Oakville Harbour Cultural Heritage Landscape preservation strategy, by Elaine Eigl and Susan Schappert (Town of Oakville), David Deo and Ellen Kowalchuk (Common Bond Collective) and Tatum Taylor Chaubal (Timmins Martelle Heritage Consultants)

In the Heritage Education, Awareness & Scholarship category, a public art installation by Joey Giaimo at The Oculus Pavilion received an Award of Merit.

A student achievement award was presented to Luke McElcheran from Carleton University for his thesis project, which surveyed and analyzed literature on Canadian heritage trades.

“When a heritage building is renewed, reused, and repurposed well, communities celebrate the places that have shaped them,” said Christienne Uchiyama, president of CAHP. “By investing in conserving and adapting a building for re-use, its character and defining elements remain available to future generations.”