Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Canada Council names J.B.C. Watkins and Ron Thom award winners

The Canada Council for the Arts has announced architectural winners for this year’s prizes, with emerging architect awards now following the recent Prix de Rome winners, Acre Architects, and Emerging Practitioner winner David Verbeek. The Canada Council has now also named winners for the J.B.C. Watkins Award and the  Ronald J. Thom Award for Early Design Achievement.

J.B.C. Watkins, Ronald Thom, Canada Council
La SHED and Tiffany Kaewen Dang (l-r). Images via Canada Council for the Arts

Tiffany Kaewen Dang is the winner of this year’s J.B.C. Watkins Award, which is offered to a Canadian professional architect wishing to pursue postgraduate studies outside Canada, ideally in Denmark, Norway, Sweden or Iceland.

Originally from Edmonton, Alberta, territorial scholar Tiffany Kaewen Dang holds a Master’s degree in Landscape Architecture from the Harvard University Graduate School of Design, and has recently been admitted to the Geography PhD program at the University of Cambridge. Her research focuses on the Canadian National Parks System as a colonial infrastructure of racial oppression and territorial conquest, under the premise that if landscape architecture has a continuing role in the colonization of what is today known as Canada, then the subversion of traditional landscape architectural methodologies can be utilized for decolonization. She is currently conducting research as a part of the OPSYS Landscape Infrastructure Lab.

Montreal-based studio La SHED is the recipient of the Ronald J. Thom Award for Early Design Achievement, which is given to a practitioner of architecture or an architectural firm. La SHED is known for its rich expertise in renovating, transforming and building residential spaces of every type and historical era. Openness, light and alignment are the primary design elements of their projects, distinguished for their contemporary functional layouts and use of durable, affordable, yet classic materials.

More information about both Canada Council Awards is available via the official website, linked here. The deadline to apply for 2019’s J.B.C. Watkins Award and the Ronald J. Thom Award is March 1.