Call for submissions to Municipal Urban Design Awards programs

The National Urban Design Awards of the RAIC, the Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP) and the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) recognize excellence in urban design and demonstrate its importance to the general public. The Urban Design Awards program was established in 2006 to recognize individuals, organizations, firms, and projects that have contributed to the quality of life and sustainability in Canadian cities.

The two-tiered program is a cooperative venture between the RAIC, CIP, CSLA and Canadian municipalities.

In the first year of a two-year cycle, Canadian municipalities will administer local Urban Design Award Programs. In the second year, the RAIC, CIP, and CSLA will conduct a National Urban Design Awards program. Participants in the latter will include the winners from Canadian municipalities as well as an open competition, so that worthy initiatives undertaken in other communities across Canada may also be recognized.

The following cities have established local Urban Design Award programs which are currently open for submissions: Mount Pearl (deadline July 31), Ottawa (August 10), Edmonton (August 15), Calgary (September 5), Vaughan (September 22), Niagara Region (October), Vancouver (December), Surrey (December 22), Mississauga (May 14, 2018). Deadlines have already passed for competitions in Hamilton, London, and Toronto. Competition dates are yet to be announced for competitions in Brampton, Kitchener, Oakville, Oshawa, Richmond and Waterloo.