Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Call for submissions to the National Urban Design Awards

national urban design awrds
national urban design awrds

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC), the Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP), and the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) are pleased to announce the call for submissions for the 2016 National Urban Design Awards.

The submission deadline is 4:00 p.m. EST, February 11, 2016.

Good urban design is a cornerstone of successful cities and neighbourhoods. It creates a sense of identity and shapes places for community life such as parks, civic buildings, streets, transportation infrastructure, plazas, and courtyards. The awards aim to raise public and private awareness of the important role played by urban design.

The National Urban Design Awards recognize individuals, organizations, firms and projects located in Canada that have contributed to the quality of life in Canadian cities and their sustainability. The awards honour projects in the following categories: urban design plans, urban fragments, urban architecture, civic design projects, community initiatives and student projects. Projects must be built after January 1, 2009, to be eligible.

The awards are part of a two-tier program held in cooperation with Canadian municipalities. Municipalities with a local urban awards program (Tier 1) will automatically submit winners in 2015 to National Urban Design Awards.

In addition, any individual or organization in any Canadian urban municipality may submit an eligible project.

The following jury members will adjudicate all categories of awards:

  • Carl A Knipfel, MRAIC, RPP, principal architect and designer at Lankinhouse Design in Toronto;
  • Franc D’Ambrosio, MRAIC,  principle of  D’Ambrosio Architecture + Urbanism in Victoria;
  • Joanne Moran, of Ottawa, past president of the Ontario Association of Landscape Architects and board member of the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects.

In 2014, projects in the following 12 cities received a National Urban Design Award: Calgary, Edmonton, Guelph, Montreal, Nanaimo, Ottawa, Thunder Bay, Toronto, Trois Rivières, Waterloo, Westminster, and Winnipeg.

The National Urban Design Awards will be presented during the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada’s Festival of Architecture held June 8-11, 2016 in Nanaimo B.C.

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is a national, voluntary association, representing about 5,000 members. The RAIC advocates for excellence in the built environment, works to demonstrate how design enhances the quality of life and promotes responsible architecture in addressing important issues of society.

For more information, please visit