Call for submissions: RAIC 2020 Awards

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) invites submissions for the Emerging Architectural Practice Awardthe Architectural Firm Awardthe Prix du XXe Siècle, and the Emerging Architect Award.

The RAIC is also calling for nominations for its highest honour, the Gold Medal.

2019 Architectural Firm Award winner – LGA Architectural Partners.  Their work includes The Centre for Native Child and Family Well Being | Photo by Ben Rahn / A-Frame

Architectural Firm Award

This award recognizes an architectural firm or practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture. The award recognizes the achievements of the firm for its quality of architecture, its service to its clients, its innovations in practice, contributions to architectural education and to professional institutions and associations and public recognition.

Emerging Architectural Practice Award 

This award recognizes an emerging architectural practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture. The award recognizes the achievements of the practice for the quality of their built work, service to their clients, innovations in practice and public recognition. 

Emerging Architect Award

This award is to recognize an emerging architect for excellence in design, leadership or service to the profession. It is intended that this award will inspire other individuals to become licensed and to strive for excellence in their work. The award was previously called the Young Architect Award. 

The Prix du XXe Siècle

Presented by the RAIC and the National Trust for Canada, this award recognizes buildings over 25 years old that have become landmarks of Canadian architecture. The prize celebrates design quality as well as enduring excellence, recognizing the design of the original architect or firm as well as the on-going stewardship of the owner of the building. The National Trust for Canada is Canada’s national charitable not-for-profit organization that works to save and renew Canada’s historic places. 

RAIC Gold Medal 

The Gold Medal recognizes a significant body of work deemed to be a major contribution to Canadian architecture and having a lasting influence on the theory or practice of architecture, either through demonstrated excellence in design, research, or education.

Past winners include Gilles Saucier and André Perrotte Roger du Toit, Brian MacKay-Lyons, Frank Gehry, Arthur Erickson, Dan Hanganu, Bing Thom, Phyllis Lambert, George Baird, and others.


The deadline for submissions is 12 a.m. EST, Friday, January 24, 2020. Applications can be submitted through the  online RAIC awards platform.