Call for submissions for the 2010 National Urban Design Awards

Urban design plays an important role in maintaining and enhancing the quality of life in Canadian cities. The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC), the Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP) and the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) in cooperation with Canadian municipalities, wish to promote public and private awareness of that role. For this reason, an Urban Design Awards program has been established to recognize individuals, organizations, firms and projects that have contributed to the quality of life in our Canadian cities and their sustainability.


There are six different categories of urban design projects, and one award will be bestowed for each category:


* Urban Design Plans

* Urban Fragments

* Urban Architecture

* Community Improvement Projects

* Civic Design Projects

* Student Projects


Entry forms and binders must be received before 4:00pm on Thursday, February 11, 2010. All submissions must be sent to:


Architecture Canada

Attention: 2010 National Urban Design Awards

330 – 55 Murray Street

Ottawa, ON

K1N 5M3


An entry fee must accompany each submission that is not from a municipally administered local urban design awards program. A cheque payable to The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada must accompany each entry in the amount of:


* $183.75 (tax included) or

* $197.53 (tax included for QC residents) or

* $197.75 (tax included for NS, NB and NF residents)


Emilie Adin, City Planner, North Vancouver, will act as the professional advisor who will oversee the jury, who will adjudicate all categories of awards. The jury members are:


* Vincent Asselin, FCSLA (Montreal)

* Nigel Baldwin, FRAIC (Vancouver)

* Don Hester, FCSLA, MCIP (Winnipeg)


For more information, please visit, or e-mail or call 613.241.3600 x 214.