Call for nominations and submissions to the 2011 RAIC Awards of Excellence

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) has issued a call for submissions for its Awards of Excellence. The categories are as follows:

Advocate for Architecture

This award is for an individual who has contributed to the elevation of architecture in the public realm by means other than the practice of architecture. The award is to recognize the long-term commitment to and support for the profession of architecture in Canada, at the national, regional or local level.

Allied Arts Medal

This award, which was established in 1953, is awarded to a Canadian artist/resident for recognition of outstanding creative achievement in the arts in any medium which are allied to architecture; for example, mural paintings, sculpture, decoration, stained glass, industrial design, etc. Selection of the Allied Arts Medalist is made by a jury appointed by the Architecture Canada Awards Committee.

Green Building

This award is to recognize outstanding achievements of high-performance architecture in Canada for buildings that are environmentally responsible and healthy places to live, work and play. The award recognizes building designs and construction practices that significantly reduce or eliminate the negative impact of buildings on the environment and on occupants, or provide for regeneration, in five broad areas:

* sustainable site planning

* safeguarding water and water efficiency

* energy efficiency and renewable energy

* conservation of materials and resources

* indoor environmental quality

This award is open to built works – either new construction or renovations – completed after January 1, 2002.

Innovation in Architecture

This award recognizes excellence in architectural innovation, including the research and development and the applied use of new technology; unique adaptation of existing technology; new project delivery methods; new design processes; new details; or the development of new methods related to the construction process. Innovations cover a wide range of architectural endeavours including, but not limited to Management, Project Delivery, Energy, or Building Envelope. The award is intended to recognize skill and innovation in technology and project delivery rather than the art of architecture.

The submission deadline is 4:00pm on Thursday, December 9, 2010.

For more information, please visit