Calgary Heritage Authority 2012 Lion Awards

The 2012 Lion Awards event will be held on Wednesday, August 1, 2012 at the new Calgary Board of Education Headquarters, located at 1221 Eighth Street SW. Doors open at 6:30pm for a cocktail reception followed by the awards starting at 7:00pm. Free parking is available in the building and can be accessed from 12th Avenue SW.

The Calgary Heritage Authority Lion Awards recognizes citizens and groups who have undertaken initiatives, of any scale, in support of heritage conservation in Calgary. These biennial awards are juried by the Calgary Heritage Authority and awarded in the categories of: Resource Conservation, New Building Design, Landscape, Community Revitalization, Advocacy and Awareness, and Heritage Tradespeople/Craftspersons.

For information on past award winners, please see the list of past recipients at

The 2012 Lion Awards jury adjudicated the submissions in June. The jury was comprised of: Linus Murphy, Principal of S2 Architecture; Rein Matiisen, Principal of RJC Consulting Engineers; Nancy Pollock-Ellwand, Dean of the Faculty of Environmental Design at the University of Calgary; Paula Arab, columnist and editorial board member of the Calgary Herald; Murray Larkins, board member of the Calgary Heritage Authority; and jury advisor Darryl Cariou, senior heritage planner at the City of Calgary.

The guest speaker at the Awards evening is Dino Bumbaru, Policy Director of Heritage Montreal, President of the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) Canada, and Member of the Order of Canada (2008).

This event is free. However, for planning purposes please RSVP in advance. For further information on the Lion Awards or to reserve your spot, please visit, or contact Pia Novello at 403.268.4461 and at