Blouin Orzes architectes wins a 2020 Emerging Voices Award

The Architectural League of New York has announced the winners of its annual Emerging Voices competition. Canadian firm Blouin Orzes architects is among the eight selected winners to receive a 2020 award.

Blouin Orzes architectes | Katittavik Multidisciplinary Hall, Northern Village of Kuujjuaraapik, Nunavik, Quebec, Canada. Credit: Courtesy Blouin Orzes architectes. via

The award spotlights individuals and firms based in the United States, Canada, and Mexico with distinct design voices and the potential to influence the disciplines of architecture, landscape design, and urbanism.

Based in Montreal, the firm is led by Marc Blouin and Catherine Orzes. Blouin has been building projects in Nunavik —the region of Quebec north of the 55th parallel — since 2000. Orzes joined the firm in 2012, then became a partner in 2018.

Beginning with a hotel project in Inukjuak, Blouin Orzes architectes has designed and built several civic projects for the Inuit communities in the region. The firm’s portfolio includes Katittavik Multidisciplinary Hall, Polar Bears International House, and Wildlife Field Research Station.

According to the Architectural League of New York, Blouin Orzes architectes’ work is attuned to native tradition and environmental issues, deftly adapting to the needs and limitations of the harsh northern climate.

“Our work is not just about designing and building. It is about ‘accompanying’ our clients as best we can, from the very beginnings of a project till its final realization,” said the principals to the Architectural League of New York.

The selection process for the two-stage jury included past Emerging Voices winners and other design professionals from across North America, who reviewed work from approximately 50 firms.

This year’s other Emerging Voices recipients are:
Brandon Dake, Andrew Wells
 Dake Wells Architecture, Springfield and Kansas City, MO
Lazbent Pavel Escobedo Amaral, Andrés Soliz Paz
 Escobedo Soliz, Mexico City, Mexico
Casper Mork-Ulnes
 Mork Ulnes Architects, San Francisco, CA and Oslo, Norway
Olalekan Jeyifous
 New York, NY
Miriam Peterson, Nathan Rich 
Peterson Rich Office, New York, NY
Christopher Marcinkoski, Andrew Moddrell
 PORT, Chicago, IL and Philadelphia, PA
Bryan Young 
Young Projects, New York, NY