Canadian Architect


LAMP lighting design competition winners announced

November 13, 2015
by Elsa Lam

Alex Josephson of Partisans won in the Established category with his Gweilo collection of lamps

Alex Josephson of Partisans won in the Established category with his Gweilo collection of lamps

On Thursday, November 12, L A M P (Lighting Architecture Movement Project) announced the winners of its third annual international lighting design competition. An exhibition in Vancouver from November 12-15 celebrates the winners, who represent the best established, emerging and student lighting designers from around the globe.

L A M P aims to introduce a broader audience to lighting design while promoting and connecting emerging talent to new markets. This year’s first place winners in each category are:

Established – ‘Gweilo’ by Alex Josephson from Toronto, ON, Canada

Emerging – ‘Eclipse’ by Annie Tung from Toronto, ON, Canada

Student – ‘Diverge’ by Christina Wilkinson from Toronto, ON, Canada

The exhibition is held at Jan Kath Studio, 505 Railway Street, Vancouver, B.C., V6A 1A7, and admission is by donation. This year’s exhibit features 20 original jury-selected lighting entries and this year’s lighting winners. L A M P is also excited to present ‘Sound Clouds’, an art installation by Vancouver designer and featured guest Alex Beim from Tangible Interactions.

L A M P received 90 submissions worldwide, from 48 cities and 21 countries. This year’s judges made their decisions based on a set evaluation ranging from aesthetics, marketability, innovation, and unique interpretation of this year’s theme: Crystallize. The judges included: Tom Dixon, Michael Anastassiades, Nancy Bendtsen (Inform Interiors), Omer Arbel (Bocci Design), John Patkau (Patkau Architects), Falken Reynolds (Chad Falkenberg, Kelly Reynolds), and the team from ANDLIGHT (Lukas Peet, Caine Heintzman and Matt Davis).

All of the winning and finalist entries can be viewed at

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *