Award of Excellence: The Winners

Begun in 1987 by Anne Cormier, Randy Cohen and Howard Davies, Atelier Big City garnered the grand prize of the Ordre des architectes du Qubec in 1994 and a Prix de Rome in 1999. Most recently, Atelier Big City has focused its efforts on installation design, teaching and competitions and in 2002 was awarded a special jury prize for its entry in the competition for Thtre du Vieux-Terrebonne. In addition, the firm has won a limited competition for the design of a new entryway to Montreal’s Place des Arts complex.

Smith Vigeant architectes explore design through a self-realized process of accretion. Ideas germinate in one type of project to be found later developed in others. The practice overlaps different scales of housing, institutional, and interior design work, where the environment of each project is detailed for all the senses.

Atelier T.A.G. (T.A.G. stands for “technique, architecture, graphisme”) was begun in 1997 by Katsuhiro Yamazaki and Manon Asselin and has defined itself as an ethical practice producing work within the perceived ill-defined role of architecture in contemporary society. Atelier T.A.G. currently designs two cultural buildings awarded to it through provincial architectural competitions–the Chateauguay Library and the Thtre du Vieux-Terrebonne. Established in 1958 in Montreal, Jodoin Lamarre Pratte et associs architectes has designed numerous award-winning projects including the Montreal campus of the Universit du Qubec (UQAM), the McCord Museum of Canadian History, and the M.H. Wong Pavilion at McGill University. Photo at left is Atelier T.A.G. (from left to right): Katsuhiro Yamazaki, Manon Asselin, Tom Yu (missing: Andrea Merrett).

NOMADE architecture, created in 1999 by partners Jean Pelland, Michel Lauzon and Martin Leblanc, is a multidisciplinary firm interested in the integration of architecture, design and information technology. Its first large project, at 100 rue McGill in Montreal, was followed by its listing as one of five finalists for the Orchestre symphonique de Montreal design competition. The firm’s innovative approaches to urban design have also enabled it to pursue larger scale projects such as the “Translucide” image installation at the Palais des congrs de Montral, a project that is urban in scale and incorporates landscape with technology in the public realm.

Saia Barbarese Topouzanov, established in 1968, has been recognized with two Governor-General’s Medals and brings over 30 years’ experience in a wide range of project types. Desnoyers Mercure et associs, established since the late 1950s and recipients of the Vincent Massey Medal among other awards, has also undertaken projects in all categories. Menks Shooner Dagenais Architectes has extensive international experience. Current work includes McGill University’s Faculty of Music and the 900 de Maisonneuve ouest office tower, Montreal. Back row, left to right: Joe Khalaf, Pierre Robert, Andr Mercure, Franois Hbert, Mario Saa Marc-Antoine Larose, Andr Kirchhoff, Dominique Gigure, Gatan Roy. Middle row, left to right: Vladimir Toupouzanov, Richard Beaudoin, Cline Gaulin, Catherine Blanger, Isabelle Roy, Anik Shooner, Johanne Parent, Marie-ve Ethier-Chiasson, Nadia Meratla.

Pierre Thibault architecte of Quebec City has focussed its efforts to achieve the greatest design simplicity within budget restrictions, which has allowed the firm to create highly varied spaces, each responding to one-of-a-kind situations that optimize each program’s potential. Thus, an emphasis is placed on establishing a dialogic between architecture, art, and landscape. The firm has won prizes for the design of institutional, cultural, research and educational facilities.

Le Groupe ARCOP was founded in the early 1950s as Affleck, Desbarats, Dimakopoulos, Lebensold Sise and adopted ARCOP as its firm name in 1970. Designers of Place Ville-Marie (1962), Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier, Place des Arts (1963) and Place Bonaventure amongst others, ARCOP has been instrumental in the development of a modern downtown urbanscape for the city of Montreal including its indoor pedestrian network. Recent projects include Mississauga Garden Park and the Nunavut Legislative Building.

Based in Vancouver, id,a* Architecture was established in 1996. Members of the firm have combined backgrounds in architecture, art, landscape architecture, forest ecology and engineering.

Miika Karpyshin studied at the University of Manitoba where she received a Bachelor of Environmental Design and a Master of Architecture. She is the recipient of the RAIC Gold Medal for her thesis and the AIA/AFF Scholarship for First Professional Degree in Architecture. She now lives in Montreal where she works with Dan S. Hanganu Architects.

Maxime Pion earned a Master of Architecture degree in 2003 from the Universit de Montral. He has also received his undergraduate degree in architecture from the Universit de Montral, and an environmental design degree from the Universit du Qubec Montral. Maxime now works as an intern architect at Beaupr et Michaud, architectes in Montreal.

Teeple Architects Inc., established in 1989, has forged its reputation through a broad range of institutional, commercial and residential projects including community and recreation centres, libraries, schools and university buildings. Shore Tilbe Irwin & Partners has provided architectural and engineering consulting services for clients throughout Canada and the United States since 1945. The partnership includes four partners, five associates and forty employees. The firm has been recognized with over 75 design awards and numerous features in the architectural press.