August 15 submission deadline for National Urban Design Awards

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC), the Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP), and the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) announce that entries are now being accepted for the 2018 National Urban Design Awards.

National Urban Design Awards
Looking up at the Sweeny&co designed QRC West, a 2016 National Urban Design Awards winner. Photo by Doublespace

The National Urban Design Awards (NUDA) is a biennial Canadian awards program that showcases excellence in urban design and raises public awareness of the important role of urban design in sustainability and quality of life in Canadian cities.

Architects, planners, landscape architects and designers can learn more about how to participate here. A jury of experts will assess entries in the following categories:

  • urban design plans;
  • urban architecture;
  • civic design projects;
  • urban fragments;
  • community initiatives award, and;
  • student projects.

The deadline is August 15, 2018.

The National Urban Design Awards are part of a two-tier program held in cooperation with 19 participating Canadian municipalities: Toronto, Vancouver, Halifax, Edmonton, Calgary, Ottawa, London, Hamilton, Kitchener, Mississauga, Surrey, Richmond, Oshawa, Oakville, Niagara, Mount Pearl, Waterloo, Vaughan, and Brampton.

Winners in the 2017 and 2018 municipal competitions are invited to submit to the National Urban Design Awards. Projects in other communities across Canada are also eligible.

Designers, developers, sponsors, and owners of projects selected as winners will receive a certificate for an award or honourable mention, and their achievement will be publicized.

Winners will be announced in October 2018. The awards ceremony will take place at a later date to be confirmed.

The RAIC, CIP and CSLA established the National Urban Design Awards in 2006 to promote awareness of the important role of urban design in maintaining and enhancing the quality of life in Canadian cities and to recognize the contributions of individuals, organizations, firms, and projects.

More information about the 2018 National Urban Design Awards is available via the official RAIC website, linked here.