Canadian Architect


Winners of the Town of Oakville’s Livable by Design Awards announced

December 1, 2013
by Canadian Architect

A selection committee comprised of Ralph Giannone, Chris Hardwicke, Glenn O’Connor and Julian Ryder evaluated 28 submissions to this year’s Livable by Design Awards and granted Awards of Excellence, Distinction and Merit to the following projects. The Citizens’ Choice Award winner was also recognized at the awards reception on November 8, 2013 at Queen Elizabeth Park Community and Cultural Centre.

An Award of Excellence for contributions in heritage preservation and the urban design/public realm was given to the Historic Bank of Montreal (Anthropologie) by ATA Architects Inc., and an Award of Excellence for contributions in urban design went to the The Shores by P+S / IBI Group Architects. An Award of Distinction for contributions in adaptive reuse and sustainable building was given to the Queen Elizabeth Park Community and Cultural Centre by Shore Tilbe Perkins & Will, while an Award of Distinction for contributions in urban design was claimed by Pit Stop by Bortolotto. Luna Centre by Cusimano Architect won an Award of Merit for contribution in sustainable building, and the Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts Patio by O’Connor Mokrycke Consultants received an Award of Merit for contribution in local placemaking. An Award of Merit for contributions in neighbourhood placemaking went to the Westwood Park Redevelopment by the EDA Collaborative Inc. And finally, the Citizens’ Choice Award recipient is the North Oakville East Wastewater Pumping Station by AECOM Canada Ltd.

For more information, please visit

pit stop by bortolotto
pit stop by bortolotto

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect is a magazine for architects and related professionals practicing in Canada. Canada's only monthly design publication, Canadian Architect has been in continuous publication since 1955.
All posts by

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *