Canadian Architect


Winners of the 2013 CISC Ontario Steel Design Awards announced

June 8, 2013
by Canadian Architect

The Ontario Region of the Canadian Institute of Steel Construction (CISC) recently announced the winners of its Regional Steel Design Awards competition in five categories: Architecture, Engineering, Green Buildings, Projects Converted into Steel, and Projects Constructed Outside of Ontario.

The award winners for 2013 are:

In the Architecture category, two Awards of Merit were given to the Abilities Centre by B+H Architects and to the Richard Ivy School of Business by Hariri Pontarini Architects.

In the Engineering category, an Award of Excellence recognized Loblaws & Ryerson University’s Redevelopment of Maple Leaf Gardens by Turner Fleischer Architects Inc./BBB Architects, while two Awards of Merit went to the Redevelopment of the Toronto Sun Media Site by pellow + associates architects inc. and to the Re-Decking and Widening of Hogg’s Hollow Bridge at Highway 401 in Toronto by Morrison Hershfield Limited.

In the Green Buildings category, an Award of Merit was given to Environment 3 – EV3 – University of Waterloo by Pearce McCluskey Architects.

In the Projects Converted into Steel category, an Award of Merit went to the Algonquin Centre for Construction Excellence (ACCE) by Diamond Schmitt Architects.

And in the Projects Constructed Outside of Ontario   category, an Award of Excellence distinguished the Canadian Museum for Human Rights by Smith Carter Architects/Antoine Predock Architect PC.

University graduates who were recipients of the 2012-2013 CISC Ontario Scholarship awards were also honoured. The CISC Ontario Scholarship program is sponsored by various members of the CISC.  Walter Koppelaar of Walters Group Inc. presented the student awards and stated the following: “In 2002, the Ontario regional committee of the CISC established a member-sponsored scholarship program, awarding scholarships to students with the highest grades in steel design courses, in each of the Ontario engineering and architectural universities. Please join me in celebrating these firms that continue to recognize the value of engaging the next generation of architects and engineers. It goes without saying that our future will only be as bright as our profile with the designers of tomorrow. Helping young people recognize the unparalleled potential of building with steel must be one of our highest callings.”

The 2012-2013 recipients are: Jeremiah Vanaderlaan of McMaster University, Will Hayho of Western University, Kevin Goorts of the University of Waterloo, Johnathan Sevick of the University of Toronto, Oliver Achkar of Ryerson University, and  Gregory Louisy of Carleton University. 

For more information, please visit   

richard ivey school of business by hariri pontarini architects
richard ivey school of business by hariri pontarini architects

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect is a magazine for architects and related professionals practicing in Canada. Canada's only monthly design publication, Canadian Architect has been in continuous publication since 1955.
All posts by

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *