Canadian Architect


The 2006 Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence winners announced

December 19, 2006
by Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect announces the winners of the 2006 Awards of Excellence, given each year to architects and architectural graduates for buildings in the design stage. One of only two national award programs devoted exclusively to architecture, the Awards of Excellence have recognized significant building projects in Canada on an annual basis since 1968.

This year’s winners have been selected by a jury consisting of Deborah Berke of Deborah Berke & Partners Architects in New York, Talbot Sweetapple of MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects Limited in Halifax, and Stephen Teeple of Teeple Architects Inc. in Toronto.

Awards are given for architectural design excellence. Jurors considered response to the program, site, geographical and social context, and evaluated physical organization, structure, materials and environmental features.

Three Awards of Excellence were given to:

Paul Laurendeau Architecte/Jodoin Lamarre Pratte et associs architectes of Montreal for the Salle de Spectacle Desjardins in Dolbeau-Mistassini, Quebec
Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects of Toronto/Smith Carter Architects and Engineers of Winnipeg/Prairie Architects Inc. of Winnipeg for the Manitoba Hydro Head Office in Winnipeg, Manitoba
Peter Cardew Architects of Vancouver for the Garden Wall House in Vancouver, British Columbia

Two Awards of Merit were given to:

Baird Sampson Neuert Architects of Toronto for the Opera Urbanus Old Post Office Plaza in St. Louis, Missouri
HIP Architects/David Murray Architect of Edmonton for the Ukrainian Canadian Archives & Museum of Alberta

And finally, three students were selected as award winners for their respective graduating thesis projects. They are:

Joey Giaimo of the University of British Columbia for Territorializing the Residual
David Coole of the University of British Columbia for A Typological Study of a Kinetic Architecture: Culture + Commerce Mill
Philip Vandermey of the University of Calgary for Experiential Symbiosis

Exclusive coverage will be granted to award winners in the December 2006 issue of Canadian Architect, and each winning architect and respective client will receive a framed certificate. Student winners will receive a framed certificate in addition to a cash award of $500.

Canadian Architect wishes to thank all firms and students who participated in this year’s awards. It is the enthusiastic involvement of everyone that makes each year a great success.

Media contacts:

Ian Chodikoff, Editor
Tel: 416.510.6807
E-mail: [email protected]

Leslie Jen, Assistant Editor
Tel: 416.510.6845
E-mail: [email protected]

Fax: 416.510.5140

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect is a magazine for architects and related professionals practicing in Canada. Canada's only monthly design publication, Canadian Architect has been in continuous publication since 1955.
All posts by

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say: