Canadian Architect


RAIC recognizes excellence among students

July 10, 2006
by Canadian Architect

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada recognizes excellence among students at Canada’s University Schools of Architecture each year in two ways – the RAIC Student Medal and the RAIC Honour Roll.

The RAIC Student Medal is awarded in each School of Architecture in Canada to students achieving the highest level of academic excellence when graduating from a professional degree program. The RAIC Honour Roll recognizes architecture students in these schools who achieve high academic standings in the top 10 per cent of their graduating class.

“I want to personally congratulate each of the students for their vision and passion – this is an extraordinary time to be a talented young Architect in Canada,” said RAIC President Vivian Manasc, FRAIC.

The following are the 2006 recipients.

The University of British Columbia Medallist is Joey Giaimo, and Sengsack Tsoi, Thomas Lee and David Coole made the Honour Roll.

The medallist for the University of Calgary is Philip Johan Vandermey, and Honour Roll inductees are Michael Deboer, Christopher Clarke, Matthew Hickey and Adam Scales.

The University of Manitoba Medallist is Stacy Nichole Dyck, and Cory Gene Leniuk, Marcy Mae Shelvey, David Spencer Court and Paul Brennan Sukava made the Honour Roll.

The medallist for Carleton University is Ryan McLennan, and Honour Roll inductees are Loretta Kong, Eric Li and Grant Oikawa.

The University of Toronto Medallist is Matthew Leo Galvin, and Hugh Fletcher Clark, Philip Goodfellow, Sarah Kimoko Iwata and Noam Lamdan made the Honour Roll.

The medallist for the University of Waterloo is Yvonne Popovska, and Honour Roll inductees are Thomas-Bernard Kenniff and Tanya Southcott

The McGill University Medallist is Lauren Abrahams, and Mathieu Cadoretm Vedanta Prasad Balbahadur, Roxanne Gauthier and Nazia Pervaiz Aftab made the Honour Roll.

The medallist for the Universit de Montral is Jason Goorts, and Honour Roll inductees are Sbastien-Paul Desparois, Hala Mehio, Isabelle Rgimbald and Patrick Hugh Tiernan.

The Universit de Laval Medallist is Olivier Bourgeois, and Marie-Louise Germain, rick RivardYann Daigle and Emmanuelle Champagne made the Honour Roll.

The medallist for Dalhousie Universityis Youki Cropas, and Honour Roll inductees are Robert Des Rosiers, Juliet Pitts, Colin Turner and Rebekka Hammer.

Full details about the RAIC Awards and Honours programs are available at

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect is a magazine for architects and related professionals practicing in Canada. Canada's only monthly design publication, Canadian Architect has been in continuous publication since 1955.
All posts by

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *