Canadian Architect


RAIC launches call for submissions for 2017 awards program

October 18, 2016
by Canadian Architect

Architects are invited to submit projects for the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada’s (RAIC) prestigious awards program. They may enter their work or nominate a colleague or leader in the profession to be recognized for contributions to the built environment. The ten awards honour a wide range of achievements in the architectural profession.

The RAIC administers the largest architecture awards program in Canada, recognizing excellence in the field. The program seeks to increase public awareness of architecture, contribute to the development of the discipline and practice of architecture, and promote collective learning on the part of the architectural community. Award recipients are selected by a jury or peer-assessment committee.

Recipients of these awards receive either a medal or plaque, and will be announced in spring 2017. The awards ceremony will take place during the RAIC Festival of Architecture taking place May 24-27, 2017 in Ottawa. All awards are by submission except for the Gold Medal, the Advocate for Architecture Award and the Prix du XXe Siècle, which are by nomination. The cost for submission ranges from $0 to $350. The awards are:

Gold Medal
The Gold Medal is the highest honour that the RAIC can bestow in recognition of a significant and lasting contribution to Canadian architecture. It is considered a lifetime achievement in the profession. Past winners include renowned architects such as Brian MacKay-Lyons, FRAIC, Peter Busby, FRAIC, and Douglas Cardinal, FRAIC

Architectural Firm Award
This award recognizes an architectural firm or practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture. The award recognizes the achievements of the firm for its quality of architecture, its service to its clients, innovations in practice, contributions to architectural education, and to professional institutions and associations, and public recognition.

Young Architect Award
This award goes to an architect under 40 for excellence in design, leadership and service to the profession. It is intended that this award will inspire other young architects to become licensed and to strive for excellence in their work.

Emerging Architectural Practice Award
This award is to recognize the principals of an emerging architectural practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture. The award recognizes the achievements of the principals for the quality of their built work, service to their clients, innovations in practice and public recognition.

Prix du XXe siècle
The RAIC and the National Trust for Canada invite submissions for the 2016 Prix du XXe siècle, an award that recognizes significant buildings of the mid-20th century. The award can be given to a building in Canada, designed by an architect from any country, or a building anywhere in the world that was designed by a Canadian architect.

Awards of Excellence
The RAIC’s awards of excellence are bestowed every two years. They recognize individuals who have made contributions to the architectural profession but are not necessarily architects. The award categories are:

Advocate for Architecture: This award celebrates an individual who has made a public contribution to architecture in Canada. Candidates may be found among clients or patrons, educators, public servants, architects, allied professions and others.

Allied Arts Medal: This award honours a Canadian artist or designer for outstanding achievement for art work created to be integrated with architecture. Any medium allied to architecture is eligible, including murals, sculpture, glass, fabric, lighting, furniture, water, sound, site-specific installation, video, digital, and industrial and landscape design.

Innovation: This award recognizes exceptional architectural innovation. Potential areas for innovation include research and development, applied use of new technology and adaptation of existing technology.

Green Building: This award recognizes outstanding achievements of high-performance architecture in Canada for buildings that are environmentally responsible and healthy places to live, work and play.

President’s Award for Media in Architecture: This award recognizes storytelling in media (print, broadcast, and online) about buildings and cities that promotes understanding of architecture and the role of architects in the daily life of Canadians.

For more information on the awards program and how to submit a project, please click here.

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *