Canadian Architect


Nominations open for 2008 Annual Global Award for Sustainable Architecture

May 8, 2007
by Canadian Architect

July 1, 2007, is the nominations deadline for the 2008 Global Award for Sustainable Architecture. The purpose of the award is to honour annually a living architect who moves towards sustainability, and whose work offers clear insights into the search for a rational contemporary architecture which is: fully in step with the ethical, civil and social concerns of today; innovative in the areas of ecology, energy, materials and technology; and progressive in its search for new standards for both housing and public facilities.

The winner will be commissioned to design a building for a new permanent collection of sustainable architecture which the Regional Government of Seine-aval is planning to develop adjacent the Villa Savoye at Poissy (France).

The site is close to the River Seine and 25 kilometres downstream from Paris, Le Corbusiers Villa Savoye, one of the key landmarks and benchmarks of 20th-century architecture. Although the villa was built on a greenfield site in 1928, it now has a much more urban and industrial setting at the heart of a built-up area which stretches from Poissy and Conflans-Sainte-Honorine in the west to Mantes-la-Jolie in the east and which combines both the best and the worst of contemporary urban space.

This long-term plan to develop a permanent collection of sustainable architecture which recalls the avant-garde Werkbundsiedlungen movement of the 1920s also has the aim of encouraging a stimulating dialogue with the Villa Savoye which is seen as a symbol of the industrial age. By 2050, the collection will have become an open-air museum for the architecture of the first half of the 21st century.

The European Scientific Board of architecture centres and universities, assisted by worldwide critiques and specialists, will each year select five contemporary sustainable architects. These nominees will be presented each March at a symposium held in one of the European Architecture Centres. The Commissary will visit the work of the five nominees in the field and meet their protagonists in order to produce the documentary film GA Sustainable Architecture: A Portrait of Five Avant-Garde Architects.

The jury has yet to be announced, but independent experts involved include: Ursula Baus, Stuttgart; Emanuel Caille, Paris; Angelika Fitz, Vienna; Pekka Hnninen, Helsinki; Norman Foster, London; Dominique Gauzin-Mueller, Paris/Stuttgart; William McDonough, Charlottesville, Virginia; Richard Rogers, London; Andreas Ruby, Berlin; and Ken Yeang, Kuala Lumpur.

Nominations are accepted from all nations. The prize is awarded irrespective of nationality, race, creed, or ideology. Any licensed architect, writer, critic, academician, government official, architectural association, building association, industrialist or ecologist may submit a nomination to the General Commissary for consideration by the jury for the Global Award nominations each March. Nominations are accepted through July 1 of each given year. It is sufficient to send an e-mail to the General Commissary with the nominees name, profile and contact information. Nominations that do not result in the award are automatically carried over to the following year. The Scientific Board undertakes deliberations for the five Global Award nominees in September, and the nominees are announced and presented in a yearly symposium each following March. The following September, a jury representative of the global and local cultural, social and ecological community will come together at the Villa Savoye in Poissy, France, to choose the winner out of the five nominees.

The 2007 Global Award nominees were: Stefan Behnisch, Germany; Balkrishna Doshi, India; Franoise-Hlne Jourda, France; Hermann Kaufmann, Austria; and Wang Shu, China.

For more information, please visit and

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect is a magazine for architects and related professionals practicing in Canada. Canada's only monthly design publication, Canadian Architect has been in continuous publication since 1955.
All posts by

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *