Canadian Architect


New RAIC award recognizes enduring excellence

May 5, 2007
by Canadian Architect

In honour of its 100th anniversary the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is recognizing five buildings with a new award, the Prix du XXe sicle.

This award recognizes the enduring excellence of nationally significant architecture, such as landmark buildings in the historical context of Canadian architecture. The award can go to a building in Canada, designed by an architect from any country, or a building anywhere designed by a Canadian architect.

The following stand out for their enduring excellence:

Wolf House in Toronto designed by Barton Myers, Architect
Smith House 2 in West Vancouver by Arthur Erickson, FRAIC Architect, Erickson/Massey
Simon Fraser University also by Arthur Erickson, FRAIC, Architect, Erickson/Massey
Habitat 67 designed by Moshe Safdie, FRAIC, Architect
The Toronto Dominion Centre by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Architect with John B. Parkin Associates, Bregman & Hamann Architects and Scott Associates.

It is only fitting that as the RAIC celebrates its centennial we are able to make our first announcement regarding the Prix du XXe sicle which recognizes buildings that have stood the test of time, said Paul-Andr Ttreault, AP/FIRAC, Architect, Chancellor of the RAIC College of Fellows.

These landmark buildings and their architects will be announced during the OAA/RAIC Conference and Festival of Architecture Presidents Gala beginning at 6:30 p.m. Friday, May 11, 2007 at the Sheraton Centre in Toronto.

For more information, please visit

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect is a magazine for architects and related professionals practicing in Canada. Canada's only monthly design publication, Canadian Architect has been in continuous publication since 1955.
All posts by

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *