Canadian Architect


National Building Museum announces Witold Rybczynski as winner of the eighth Vincent J. Scully Prize

September 20, 2006
by Canadian Architect

The National Building Museum’s eighth Vincent J. Scully Prize will be presented on January 17, 2007 to Witold Rybczynski. The award recognizes Rybczynski’s contributions as a scholar, author, professor, and architect to the fields of architecture and urban planning.

The Vincent J. Scully Prize and endowment was established by the National Building Museum in 1999 to recognize exemplary practice, scholarship, or criticism in architecture, historic preservation, and urban design.

Best known for his work as an architectural critic and essayist, Witold Rybczynski has been described as “one of the most original, accessible, and stimulating writers on architecture” by Library Journal. He is the author of numerous acclaimed books including Home (1986), which has been translated into ten languages; the J. Anthony Lukas Prize-winning A Clearing in the Distance (1999); The Look of Architecture (2000); and the forthcoming Last Harvest, on real estate development. He contributes regularly on architecture and urbanism to the New York Review of Books, The Atlantic, The New Yorker, and is an architectural critic for the online magazine Slate. He is currently the Martin and Margy Meyerson Professor of Urbanism at the University of Pennsylvania’s School of Design.

In recognition of his contributions to architecture and urban planning, President George W. Bush appointed Rybczynski to the Commission of Fine Arts in 2005. The Commission of Fine Arts advises on the design of public buildings, parks, and memorials in Washington, DC. In 1993, he was made an Honorary Fellow of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and in 1991 his research on low-cost housing received the AIA’s Progressive Architecture Design award.

The Vincent J. Scully Prize will be presented to Witold Rybczynski at the National Building Museum on January 17, 2007 beginning at 6:30 pm. Following the award ceremony, Rybczynski will give a lecture on “Demand-Side Urbanism.” The lecture will explore four paradigms of 20th-century American urbanism and how the design of American cities has been fundamentally impacted by market demand.

Admission is $12 for members and students; $20 for non-members. Registration is required. For more information or to purchase tickets, please visit or call 202.272.2448.

The Scully Prize was instituted in honor of Vincent J. Scully, the Sterling Professor Emeritus of the history of art at Yale University and a distinguished visiting professor at the University of Miami. For more than four decades, his teaching and scholarship have profoundly influenced prominent architects and urban planners. The jury for the Prize is comprised of Chairman David Schwarz; Carolyn Brody, chair of the Museum’s Board of Trustees; Robert Peck; Samina Quraeshi; and Robert A. M. Stern. Past recipients of the Scully prize include Vincent J. Scully, Jane Jacobs, Andrs Duany and Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, Robert Venturi and Denise Scott Brown, His Highness The Aga Khan, His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales, and Phyllis Lambert.

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect is a magazine for architects and related professionals practicing in Canada. Canada's only monthly design publication, Canadian Architect has been in continuous publication since 1955.
All posts by

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *